on the green

bear

Newbie
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Hereford
Visit site
Hi not been on for ages, had an issue the other day where I had hit my ball onto the green it rolled up the slope and stopped. I of course asked it to roll back down to the hole but it disobeyed me it always does, anyway I didnt mark it as it wasnt moving. I then stood there and waited for both of my colleagues to come on to the green this took about 7 or 8 mins then the wind picked up and my ball started rolling down the slope. As I understand it I am ok to play it from where it lies with no penalty as it was an outside agency that moved the ball. My colleagues were not happy and said I should have marked it after 2 mins and also that I should place the ball back to roughly the original position , can anyone tell me who is correct .many thanks, Rob .
 
Wind is not an outside agency. If it had been you would have to replace the ball. As it is the movement due to wind it is considered a continuation of your last stroke and you play it where is lies without penalty.
 
In fact wind is not an outside agency.

As you did not cause the ball to move you simply play it from where it finished without penalty.

If an outside agency (eg dog) had moved the ball you must replace it, again with no penalty.

So you got it right for the wrong reason ;)

Goodness knows where they got 2 minutes from :confused:
 
no penalty, play it as it lies- where did your colleagues get the mark within 2 minutes rule:rofl: Ask them to point it out in the rule book
 
If an addressed ball moves and it's not caused by the player then the ball is to be played from where it lies without penalty.

If he put the club on the ground and the ball instantly moves I would suggest this is a result of his actions and must be replaced under 1 penalty shot.

I had a similar instance in our captains away weekend, I played through a green and was on a severe downhill lie. I put the club down, looked up at the hole, back at the ball, back at the hole and then the ball moved. We looked at the rulebook and concluded this was not caused by myself under Rule 18-2b and I was to play from where the ball finished up.
 
Last edited:
I think that Rule 18-2 would be fairer if you just had to replace the ball without penalty if it moves for any reason, other than making a stroke at it. Then there would be no disputes about what caused the ball to move. When had a case a few weeks ago when a player was penalised for causing his ball to move when he accidentally trod on it while searching for it in deep rough! The same penalty wouldn't have applied in a hazard as long as the original lie was re-created. :)
 
When had a case a few weeks ago when a player was penalised for causing his ball to move when he accidentally trod on it while searching for it in deep rough! The same penalty wouldn't have applied in a hazard as long as the original lie was re-created. :)

yes it would; the only times you wouldn't be penalised for treading on your ball would relate to rule 24 and 25.
 
I think that Rule 18-2 would be fairer if you just had to replace the ball without penalty if it moves for any reason, other than making a stroke at it. Then there would be no disputes about what caused the ball to move. When had a case a few weeks ago when a player was penalised for causing his ball to move when he accidentally trod on it while searching for it in deep rough! The same penalty wouldn't have applied in a hazard as long as the original lie was re-created. :)
One of the fundamental principles of golf is that the player advance the ball with proper strokes. If he is responsible for moving the ball without a stroke a potential advantage is gained. Movement of a few inches may not seem much but the rule must cover all distances (2 cm to 200 feet) and the player must be deterred from taking advantage of any movement other than by a stroke. So there is a penalty for simply moving the ball whether you replace it or not.

Playing it from the new position which was not achieved by a stroke is also a potential advantage, so the player must replace the ball. Not doing so is deterred by an additional stroke penalty to prevent the player taking advantage an accidental advancement of the ball.

There is nothing "unfair" about a procedure that ensures the ball is advanced only by a stroke.
 
Top