Odd Local Rule on Club Web Site

oltimer

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
313
Visit site
"Embedded Ball in the General Area, the ball must be marked first then it can be lifted, then cleaned and dropped within one club length behind where it lay"
Could it not be placed as preferred lies apply throughout the General Area. any other Clubs have odd Rules in force to protect their Course ?
 
"Embedded Ball in the General Area, the ball must be marked first then it can be lifted, then cleaned and dropped within one club length behind where it lay"
Could it not be placed as preferred lies apply throughout the General Area. any other Clubs have odd Rules in force to protect their Course ?
The thread title suggests this to be a local rule at your place ? But its not, it's a rule of golf (16.3) And 16.3b requires the ball to be dropped.
 
Preferred Lies anywhere except in Penalty Areas apply ! "must mark the balls position before lifting is that correct ?
 
"Embedded Ball in the General Area, the ball must be marked first then it can be lifted, then cleaned and dropped within one club length behind where it lay"
Could it not be placed as preferred lies apply throughout the General Area. any other Clubs have odd Rules in force to protect their Course ?


Looks like a club that has forgotten or not realised that this Local Rule can be deleted as it is no longer needed.

As per Backwoodsman's comments.
 
The thread title suggests this to be a local rule at your place ? But its not, it's a rule of golf (16.3) And 16.3b requires the ball to be dropped.
Agree, not a local rule but a reminder of rule 16 content. But it is a misrepresentation of the rule - there is no requirement to mark.
OP asks if player can proceed directly to place the ball under preferred lies, indicating that is also available in the general area. Short answer is yes but as others note - preferred lies is not normally available in the general area. Also, preferred lies may be for a lesser distance than one club length.
 
The thread title suggests this to be a local rule at your place ? But its not, it's a rule of golf (16.3) And 16.3b requires the ball to be dropped.
If that's the case, isn't the solution simply to notify the club of the clash with the (current) rules?
 
Would this rule also apply if for example by ball came to rest on a sprinkler head in the fairway while preferred lies are in place? I can't just place it. I need to drop it first and then I can lift, clean and place it?
 
You could
take immovable obstruction relief from the sprinkler head alone;
take relief from the sprinkler head and then take preferred lie relief;
take preferred lie relief alone;
take preferred lie relief and then, if there were interference by the sprinkler head take immovable obstruction relief.
 
You could
take immovable obstruction relief from the sprinkler head alone;
take relief from the sprinkler head and then take preferred lie relief;
take preferred lie relief alone;
take preferred lie relief and then, if there were interference by the sprinkler head take immovable obstruction relief.
And then take preferred lie relief again?
 
Would this rule also apply if for example by ball came to rest on a sprinkler head in the fairway while preferred lies are in place? I can't just place it. I need to drop it first and then I can lift, clean and place it?

basicly Interpretation 16/1.3 applies

................ the player may not, in a single procedure, concurrently take relief from two conditions by dropping a ball in a single relief area determined by a combined nearest point of complete relief from both conditions, except in the situation where the player has successively taken relief for interference from each condition and is essentially back where the player started.
 
Would this rule also apply if for example by ball came to rest on a sprinkler head in the fairway while preferred lies are in place? I can't just place it. I need to drop it first and then I can lift, clean and place it?
I the player has two different relief situations he may take relief from either. He is then in a new situation and may relief from something else if appropriate
 
basicly Interpretation 16/1.3 applies

................ the player may not, in a single procedure, concurrently take relief from two conditions by dropping a ball in a single relief area determined by a combined nearest point of complete relief from both conditions, except in the situation where the player has successively taken relief for interference from each condition and is essentially back where the player started.
Yes. So in this scenario, if the PL is, say, one card length, what the player cannot do is directly place the ball in the immovable obstruction relief area more than one card length from the ball's original position. There would be a wrong place penalty if ball was played after that action.
 
Top