Odd bunker question.

Beezerk

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
14,315
Location
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Visit site
Another week, another question.
Hit a shot today which stopped about 6 inches from a bunker, I had to stand in the bunker to take my next shot.
My pp asked out of curiosity if it was a penalty if I touched the sand with my club, even if my ball wasn't in the hazard. We didn't know the answer, Googled it to no avail.
Penalty, yay or nay?
 
Another week, another question.
Hit a shot today which stopped about 6 inches from a bunker, I had to stand in the bunker to take my next shot.
My pp asked out of curiosity if it was a penalty if I touched the sand with my club, even if my ball wasn't in the hazard. We didn't know the answer, Googled it to no avail.
Penalty, yay or nay?

Your ball isn't in the hazard, so there is no rule to break.

That said, I guess if by touching the sand you improved your swing path you could incur a penalty, but that is a different rule completely.
 
Strange game... so many look to find a reason to penalise themselves.
 
General rule of thumb: all the rules depend on where the ball IS. Not where the player is, not how the ball got there....where it IS.
 
Answer has already been given - but to deal with any future doubters, just point them at the title of the relevant rule (13-4) "Ball in hazard; Prohibited Actions". It is not titled "ball near hazard" or "ball just outside hazard" or "player in hazard" or anything else.

The sister scenario is when ball is near a hazard, and swing or stance is affected by an immovable obstruction which is part of the hazard (say, sleeper sides or something like). A lot of people won't believe you get free relief - saying, "because the obstruction is in the hazard" - and won't accept the answer of "But my ball isn't ..."
 
Top