Not Missing Sunday Morning Golf

User 105

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Posted about this a while back. But I'd got fed up with the pace of play at my place on the weekend mornings. I just wasn't enjoying playing and standing around on every shot. Main reason is too many people on the course at the same time and the club doesn't seem to be interested in addressing it.

So made the decision to stop playing on Sunday mornings after it being a ritual since I started playing 6 years ago. Thought I'd miss it but it's actually the complete opposite.

I don't have to get up early to get out before it gets really mental. I don't have to queue on the tee for 30 mins to go out. I don't get wound up going round because it's so slow and come home in a bad mood having been out for the thick end of 6h. I don't have to abandon medal rounds after 9h because I'm not going to have time to finish all 18.

I have time to do other things on Sunday that I enjoy rather than loosing most of the day to golf.

I still play during the week, just go out for 9 holes, and every so often and play 9 on Sat\Sun PM when it quietens down.

Just playing on my own at the moment and actually really enjoying it. I need to work out what to do in comps as I really enjoy competitive rounds, but that's all Sat\Sun morning and makes things even slower. Also need to figure out what to do in the Winter. Start playing in the morning again, or just not play.

I think we get into such a routine with golf sometimes, making a change seems unthinkable. But glad I did.

My weekends have become relaxing again. Which is what they should be.

pokerjoke

Money List Winner
Visit site
Posted about this a while back. But I'd got fed up with the pace of play at my place on the weekend mornings. I just wasn't enjoying playing and standing around on every shot. Main reason is too many people on the course at the same time and the club doesn't seem to be interested in addressing it.