Medal - Practice Putt

Yep as above - the tour don't allow as a condition of the comp but you can practise on the green provided you have completed the hole and don't cause any undue delay
 
It's another rule myth this one, up there with not being able to hole out 1 handed holding the flag.

You should try it sometimes and watch the reactions you get :rofl:

Just make sure you know the rule to quote :thup:
 
It's another rule myth this one, up there with not being able to hole out 1 handed holding the flag.

You should try it sometimes and watch the reactions you get :rofl:

Just make sure you know the rule to quote :thup:

I love this one, everyone knows it's OK if you're standing on one foot ;)
 
It's another rule myth this one, up there with not being able to hole out 1 handed holding the flag.

You should try it sometimes and watch the reactions you get :rofl:

Just make sure you know the rule to quote :thup:

When I was on the handicap committee I used to do it regularly - there's a few guys in Aberdeenshire who stopped believing a 'rule myth' after playing with me
 
It's another rule myth this one, up there with not being able to hole out 1 handed holding the flag.

You should try it sometimes and watch the reactions you get :rofl:

Just make sure you know the rule to quote :thup:

My norm for causing a riot is asking for the flag to be tended while I'm putting from off the green. Based on my limited and biased sampling, about 20-25% of players think it's against the rules.
 
My norm for causing a riot is asking for the flag to be tended while I'm putting from off the green. Based on my limited and biased sampling, about 20-25% of players think it's against the rules.

...and they won;t know that....

So you are off the green and ask the flag to be attended - and a PP goes up and holds the flag - but then you change your mind and say you don't want it attended. If the PP remains pretty much where he was standing and doesn't move away from the flag he is still deemed to be tending it. And so if your ball then hits the flag you are penalised as he is still deemed to be tending the flag (unless you have asked him to move away and he didn't). Rule 17-1 Note 1.
 
Last edited:
Not if it's a 36 hole medal and you have to play that hole again that day though

Another myth, I'm afraid.

Decision 7-1b/7 -

Q.

A 36-hole stroke play competition was scheduled to be played on one day. During the first round a competitor, having holed out at the 3rd hole, plays a practice putt on the 3rd green. Is the competitor disqualified under Rule 7-1b for practising on the course before his second round?
A.

No. A competitor is entitled to do anything which the Rules permit him to do during a stipulated round. Rule 7-2 permits a player between the play of two holes to practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played, any practice putting green or the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided such practice stroke is not played from a hazard and does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7).
 
Top