jimbob.someroo
Journeyman Pro
Played a club match tonight and think I've been done ... would have been hard to win, but nonetheless, was the ruling correct?
I've hit my tee shot on the 15th hole to the right. Not wildly so and we both saw the ball going towards some small trees in a very open area. The 16th hole runs back the opposite way so there's a chance that it could have rolled through on to there.
Neither me nor my opponent heard a noise or saw the ball after it went right. We looked for 5 minutes in the trees and to the right with him insisting that there was no noise so it must have gone all the way through.
After 5 minutes I declare the ball lost and head back to the tee. As it's matchplay, he says that I can not go back and play a ball under penalty. As I didn't play a provisional ball, and the ball is not out of bounds, rather than a shot penalty and replay, he says that in matchplay it's loss of hole.
He was very adamant that he was correct and it sounded just about plausible enough to believe him and so we continued on with him winning the hole to go dormie 3.
As it turns out my ball had hit a tree and gone backwards to the middle of the fairway although as both of our balls had gone right, we'd not walked past it. The group behind us found it about 30 seconds after I'd accepted the ruling for loss of hole ...
I've hit my tee shot on the 15th hole to the right. Not wildly so and we both saw the ball going towards some small trees in a very open area. The 16th hole runs back the opposite way so there's a chance that it could have rolled through on to there.
Neither me nor my opponent heard a noise or saw the ball after it went right. We looked for 5 minutes in the trees and to the right with him insisting that there was no noise so it must have gone all the way through.
After 5 minutes I declare the ball lost and head back to the tee. As it's matchplay, he says that I can not go back and play a ball under penalty. As I didn't play a provisional ball, and the ball is not out of bounds, rather than a shot penalty and replay, he says that in matchplay it's loss of hole.
He was very adamant that he was correct and it sounded just about plausible enough to believe him and so we continued on with him winning the hole to go dormie 3.
As it turns out my ball had hit a tree and gone backwards to the middle of the fairway although as both of our balls had gone right, we'd not walked past it. The group behind us found it about 30 seconds after I'd accepted the ruling for loss of hole ...