Lost ball ....................... found in the hole?

Slime

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
20,147
Location
Surrey
Visit site
I was chatting with my mates last night re: this http://www.golfbusinessnews.com/news/people/kent-fishmonger-claims-longest-hole-in-one-in-britain/
A 408yd hole-in-one.
This is the query.
If the guy had been looking for his ball around, say, the 325yd area, and couldn't find it after five minutes, he'd declare it lost and go back and play another for his third. He then plays just short of the green, for four.
He then chips in for five ............................. but finds his original ball.
What goes on the scorecard?
I'd say a one, because, when the thing went in the hole, unbeknownst to the golfer, the hole was finished.
Surely the fact that he thought it was lost was irrelevant because he'd already, unknowingly, finished the hole.
Thoughts please.


Slime.
 
Yup, the hole is over when the ball was holed. Rule 1-1 and its associated decisions explain it well.
 
Decision 1-1/2:

Q. A player, unable to find his ball, puts another ball into play. He then discovers that his original ball is in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. The score with the original ball counts. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed that ball.
 
Last edited:
Decision 1-1/2:

Q. A player, unable to find his ball, puts another ball into play. He then discovers that his original ball is in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. The score with the original ball counts. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed that ball.
:clap: :thup:
 
I was chatting with my mates last night re: this http://www.golfbusinessnews.com/news/people/kent-fishmonger-claims-longest-hole-in-one-in-britain/
A 408yd hole-in-one.
This is the query.
If the guy had been looking for his ball around, say, the 325yd area, and couldn't find it after five minutes, he'd declare it lost and go back and play another for his third. He then plays just short of the green, for four.
He then chips in for five ............................. but finds his original ball.
What goes on the scorecard?
I'd say a one, because, when the thing went in the hole, unbeknownst to the golfer, the hole was finished.
Surely the fact that he thought it was lost was irrelevant because he'd already, unknowingly, finished the hole.
Thoughts please.


Slime.



I thought you couldn`t declare a ball lost?
 
Top