Line on ball

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 23344
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 23344

Guest
Like many, I use a black line on my ball to line up putts. However, would it be legal to use that line when placing the ball on the tee; i.e. to show the direction I want to hit the ball, so that I can ensure my stance is lined up correctly? Thanks.
 
I believe you would be ok doing this.
I'm sure part of Callaway's Triple Track spiel was that you can use the lines off the tee
 
Make sure that you get it perfectly lined up so that you can then hit it way off line! Repeat. ?
But do it quickly so not to delay play!
 
Last edited:
Thanks all … and yes, the line will only show the INTENDED direction, which is not necessarily the actual direction achieved in many instances.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
The 2023 rules reference is Clarification 14.2c/1 - "the ball may be aligned in any way when being replaced (such as by lining up a trademark)...". The same applies on the teeing area.
 
Thanks all … and yes, the line will only show the INTENDED direction, which is not necessarily the actual direction achieved In many instances. ?
If you ever find a ball that goes where you want it to, pm me the type ?. If you post it for everyone to see they will sell out.
 
I tried a line on my ball.
While it’s great for driving and putting.( ball in hand.)
I found it off putting if the line was miles out on iron shots to the green.
It was not a massive problem but did put me off a bit.
 
Top