Lifting ball in matchplay?

delc

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
5,375
Location
Hertfordshire
Visit site
In matchplay I know I can ask an opponent to mark and lift his ball if it's in the way, or have it left where it is if it could assist me, e.g. by acting as a back stop on the green. Reversing the argument, am I entitled to mark and lift my ball on the green without my opponent's permission, if it could be of assistance to him?
 
Last edited:
In matchplay I know I can ask an opponent to mark and lift his ball if it's in the way, or have it left where it is if it could assist me, e.g. by acting as a back stop on the green. Reversing the argument, am I entitled to mark and lift my ball on the green without my opponent's permission, if it could be of assistance to him?

Yes. You are not entitled to have his ball left where it is if he wants to mark it, and if you play your shot before he has a chance to mark it after saying he would - and it hits it - I believe that's a penalty.
 
Reversing the argument, am I entitled to mark and lift my ball on the green without my opponent's permission, if it could be of assistance to him?


See Rule 22-1

[h=3]22-1. Ball Assisting Play[/h]Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that a ball might assist any other player, he may:
a. Lift the ball if it is his ball; or
b. Have any other ball lifted.
 
See Rule 22-1

[h=3]22-1. Ball Assisting Play[/h]Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that a ball might assist any other player, he may:
a. Lift the ball if it is his ball; or
b. Have any other ball lifted.

Thanks. Decision 22/5 seems to cover this situation. :)
 
22/5 does not correspond to your original question. The Rule (22-1) itself is the authority for your right to lift the ball.

22/5 simply tells you that your opponent has no right to ask you to replace it. That aspect was never mentioned in your original post.
 
22/5 does not correspond to your original question. The Rule (22-1) itself is the authority for your right to lift the ball.

22/5 simply tells you that your opponent has no right to ask you to replace it. That aspect was never mentioned in your original post.

If my opponent has no right to ask me to replace the ball, then he has no right to stop me marking and lifting it on the green in the first place (as long as his ball is not already moving). It just sort of clarified the position as far as I am concerned. :)
 
If my opponent has no right to ask me to replace the ball, then he has no right to stop me marking and lifting it on the green in the first place (as long as his ball is not already moving). It just sort of clarified the position as far as I am concerned. :)

I think you're simply starting from the wrong place. On the putting green you are entitled to mark & lift your ball. Full stop. What your opponent wants just doesn't come into it. (Nb I know the proviso about moving balls possibly being affected etc before anyone points it out)
 
I think you're simply starting from the wrong place. On the putting green you are entitled to mark & lift your ball. Full stop. What your opponent wants just doesn't come into it. (Nb I know the proviso about moving balls possibly being affected etc before anyone points it out)
I knew that was the case in Stroke Play, where there is a penalty for hitting another ball when putting on the green. Wasn't sure of the Matchplay rule.
 
I knew that was the case in Stroke Play, where there is a penalty for hitting another ball when putting on the green. Wasn't sure of the Matchplay rule.

The Rules (22/1 and 22/2) are the same for both Strokeplay and Matchplay - they don't actually differentiate, so they apply to both.

Another case of 'interpreting' Rules. Simply read the Rules as they are written!

It's the consequences of not lifting, where a ball in motion (and at rest) deflected/stopped that differs! But that's Rule 19 (and 18), both of which do differentiate between Strokeplay and Matchplay!
 
You have several different elements in the OP

In matchplay I know I can ask an opponent to mark and lift his ball if it's in the way,Yes, both in both match and stroke, 22-2 or have it left where it is if it could assist me, e.g. by acting as a back stop on the greenNot your choice. He may lift, 16-1b on the green or 22-1 anywhere inc on the green. Reversing the argument, am I entitled to mark and lift my ball on the green without my opponent's permission, if it could be of assistance to him? Yes. But as you say it's on the green, you don't need to invoke Rule 22. 16-1b covers it regardless
 
Last edited:
Top