Leaving the course

CMAC

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
15,121
Visit site
I'm sure I read in the rules somewhere that once you start a competition you aren't allowed to leave the course? is this correct or have I made it up somehow over the years?

I'll search the rules later but thought one of the rules 'experts' might know off the cuff?
 
Rule 6/7 says that a player cant unduly hold up play or its penalties, but you could, I guess, nip to the toilet if your fc's are still holing out or there's a jam on the next tee
 
So what do you do when play is suspended?

that would mean the comp is suspended!

I mean during a comp, I'm sure it was a rule way back, might have changed though as I remember questioning it at the time if I went OB to get my ball back, was I 'leaving the course'


I need to get a rule book looked out
 
You need decision 6.8a/2.7...

Q) May a player, between the play of two holes, enter the clubhouse or a “half-way house” to obtain a refreshment if he then proceeds immediately to the next tee and consumes the food and/or drink while continuing his round?

A) Yes. A player may enter the clubhouse or a half-way house without penalty (see Note to Rule 6-8a). However, the player must not unduly delay either his own play or that of his opponent or any other competitor (Rule 6-7).
 
No one mentioned that to Tiger when he left Doral (I think) to drive to Orlando under watchfull eye of TV cameras a year or 2 ago.

Didn't Joost Luiten leave and head home last Thursday.

Or do you mean leave but not withdraw?
 
I'm sure I read in the rules somewhere that once you start a competition you aren't allowed to leave the course? is this correct or have I made it up somehow over the years?

I'll search the rules later but thought one of the rules 'experts' might know off the cuff?

I think you may have encountered one of the many myths which abound in clubs.
An extreme version of that one, is being told you can't cross an out of bounds line to fetch an errant ball because you 'have left the course'.
 
I remember being told something similar years ago (may even have been a LR on more than one course) that said you weren’t allowed to retrieve a ball that lay OOB

Don't think it was from the perspective of leaving the course, more that a player would/could be entering private property i.e farmers field that means player may damage a crop, grounds of a private residence etc
 
yes, appears to have been one of these urban myths that propagated. Believe it or not it was actually the pro at an old course that told me, the same pro also said if he had a 1 h/cap he would clean up in golf, bit deluded!

I have seen a sign at one course that totally forbids retrieving an OOB ball but thats a trespass issue with a farmer
 
yes, appears to have been one of these urban myths that propagated. Believe it or not it was actually the pro at an old course that told me, the same pro also said if he had a 1 h/cap he would clean up in golf, bit deluded!

I have seen a sign at one course that totally forbids retrieving an OOB ball but thats a trespass issue with a farmer

Sadly, club pro's aren't always as knowledgeable on the rules as their position would suggest. Our pro advised someone earlier in the year that they couldn't play a match on the course before a medal, but if it was a stableford comp it was OK :confused:
 
Top