Laying driver on ground to help with alignment on tee?

Farneyman

Tour Winner
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
3,725
Location
Scotland via Ireland
Visit site
As the title suggests...is this allowed?

As an example a player puts his driver on the ground with the shaft pointing down the fairway. He then uses this to help line up his ball. Picks up the driver and slices it oob

Ok the last bit is a lie but can you do the above legally?
 
As the title suggests...is this allowed?

As an example a player puts his driver on the ground with the shaft pointing down the fairway. He then uses this to help line up his ball. Picks up the driver and slices it oob

Ok the last bit is a lie but can you do the above legally?

Can't imagine why not - as he is not in the process of making a stroke and his ball isn't in play when the 'aid' is in place. I see it a fair bit - especially with newbies fresh from the pro and lessons. And the clock ticks while we wait.
 
As the title suggests...is this allowed?

As an example a player puts his driver on the ground with the shaft pointing down the fairway. He then uses this to help line up his ball. Picks up the driver and slices it oob

Ok the last bit is a lie but can you do the above legally?

Yes. Even including the last bit. But the penultimate action is critical.

From Rule 8-2

Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line (of play) must be removed before the stroke is made.
 
Knew you couldn't make/leave a mark but never spotted anyone laying down club before.

Cheers.

It's so common there is a decision on it.

8-2a/1

Club Placed on Ground to Align Feet

Q.A player places a club on the ground parallel to the line of play to assist him in aligning his feet properly. Is this permissible?

A.Yes, provided the player removes the club before playing his stroke. Otherwise, a breach of Rule 8-2a would occur.
 
It's so common there is a decision on it.

8-2a/1

Club Placed on Ground to Align Feet

Q.A player places a club on the ground parallel to the line of play to assist him in aligning his feet properly. Is this permissible?

A.Yes, provided the player removes the club before playing his stroke. Otherwise, a breach of Rule 8-2a would occur.

Ok but in the situation I am talking about it is not parallel to his feet but in front of the ball going down the line of the center of the fairway as an example. So in this situation the club is a ahead/in front of the teeing area and then used this to align a mark/line on his golf ball to help aim down the center of the fairway.

The club was used to align the ball not the feet.

Hope that makes sense. It may still be ok just want to make sure.
 
Ok but in the situation I am talking about it is not parallel to his feet but in front of the ball going down the line of the center of the fairway as an example. So in this situation the club is a ahead/in front of the teeing area and then used this to align a mark/line on his golf ball to help aim down the center of the fairway.

The club was used to align the ball not the feet.

Hope that makes sense. It may still be ok just want to make sure.

It's still not a breach of Rule 8-2a if he removes the club.
 
It's so common there is a decision on it.

8-2a/1

Club Placed on Ground to Align Feet

Q.A player places a club on the ground parallel to the line of play to assist him in aligning his feet properly. Is this permissible?

A.Yes, provided the player removes the club before playing his stroke. Otherwise, a breach of Rule 8-2a would occur.

It's still not a breach of Rule 8-2a if he removes the club.

:thup:
 
I'm sure it's still fine.

If you stick the tee in the ground lined up with something already on the ground like a broken tee, divot or leaf, you can leave it there while you play your shot.
 
It may be within the rules but do not do it if you want your playing partners to finish the round without committing suicide.

Leave the range stuff at the range. Even Keegan Bradley doesn't get up to this and it hasn't yet appeared on the LPGA.
 
Top