Justin Rose penalty

We had a similar thread to this a few months ago , when a player having a practice putting stroke on the green, hit the ball by accident and the ball moved to a new position.
I think he had to replace and replay [ I think ] with 1 penalty added . Question- must he replace or could he have just played from the new ball position and counted the strokes .????
 
Why can it just count as a stroke as he did hit the ball with the head of the putter :confused: , different in Justins case where the turf hit the ball.

Because a stroke is only forward movement of the club specifically with the intention of hitting the ball. A practice stroke is not a stroke by definition because there is no intent to hit the ball.

That one by Justin Rose is really hard luck! Probably couldn't do it again if he tried.
 
Why can it just count as a stroke as he did hit the ball with the head of the putter :confused: , different in Justins case where the turf hit the ball.
Six and half a dozen to me.

Probably the 'fairest' - at least even handed - way to handle all possible instances - both towards the hole and away.

It's one of those 'administrative'/procedural rules imo.
 
Six and half a dozen to me.

Probably the 'fairest' - at least even handed - way to handle all possible instances - both towards the hole and away.

It's one of those 'administrative'/procedural rules imo.

The rule is about moving the ball when not permitted under a rule.
If a player is permitted to move a ball without making a stroke and is able to leave it where it finishes under a 1 stroke penalty, may I pick up my ball from the fairway and place it next to the hole? ;)
 
Just for the sake of it to carry on the discussion about the situation in relation to hitting a ball with a practice swing. If the intention was to treat this differently I guess you could do so by changing the definition of stroke to something like

A "stroke" is
(a) the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.
(b) any forward movement of the club which results in the ball being struck.

Not sure if that would work, or whether there would be any "knock on" effects on any other Rules though.
 
A "stroke" is
(a) the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.
(b) any forward movement of the club which results in the ball being struck.

Not sure if that would work, or whether there would be any "knock on" effects on any other Rules though.

yep - the teeing ground becomes a danger zone!
 
yep - the teeing ground becomes a danger zone!

I knew there'd be something. But all the jokers who say "That's one" when you nudge your ball off the tee peg would finally be right. :D

This and Rulefan's point show how well and carefully the Rules as they stand have been drawn up to cover a simple question like why isn't it a stroke when you hit your ball with your practice swing.
 
I'm amazed at how many people on the thread intentionally take a divot with a practice swing.

Surely if it were a good idea all the pros would do it :confused:

A good practice swing to me is one that just brushes the ground. I understand the reasoning saying why would you not do exactly what you intend to on the shot, but still can't get my head around it.

To the people that do this... do you wipe all the cack out of the grooves and off the face before you take the real shot?
 
The rule is about moving the ball when not permitted under a rule.
If a player is permitted to move a ball without making a stroke and is able to leave it where it finishes under a 1 stroke penalty, may I pick up my ball from the fairway and place it next to the hole? ;)

Excellent point. This appears to be the only Rule that covers that! And the only Rule necessary!
 
Top