Integrating and finding playing partners.

Buckles01

Visit site
Evening all, long time lurker and 1st time poster here. I’m a relative newbie to this addictive game. Never picked up a club in anger before April last year and in attempt to find a long term hobby joined my local club during the summer. I’m still pretty inconsistent but have moments of sheer genius dispersed between absolute dross. What’s the best way to integrate, find playing partners when joining a club? Playing solo is great but would love to become more involved. Any tips folks?

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I would speak to the pro, secretary or general manager. Ask about roll up groups which usually go out at the same time on set days. Easiest way to meet up with a decent sized group and get a game. My club also runs a buddy scheme for new members to help them settle into the club. https://www.royalascotgolfclub.co.uk/join-us/buddy-scheme/

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Welcome and hope it goes well on here and at your Club. Perhaps tell us a bit about yourself, where you play, handicap if you have one, likes, other hobbies.

Do you know anybody at your new Club. What is the system for competitions if you are at that stage? Have the Club offered any guidance? Do the club have roll ups? Sure you are aware what these are but if not they are where members meet at a set rime each week, usually draw for partners and play a game with so much contributed by each player. Different rules but perhaps the best score and 2nd divide the money. Ask the Club what they offer new members and whether there is a member who should be looking after you..

Enjoy GM Forum and whatever you do do not mention out driving a 4 handicapper with over 300 yard drive on the 17th!

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Geez they sign up for a new user name quicker and quicker these days ;)