Injuries & .1

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
9,146
Location
Emerald Isle
Visit site
Hi all, just wondering

Guy starts the round with a niggling injury & has to walk in after 14th ..

Whats the story with the score card & is he entitled to enter it & get .1 ?

More to the story but this will do for now Ta ,

I looked in discontinuation of play due to physical problem 6-8a/3 but cant find the situation I described
 
You might argue that even though he was already injured when he started the round, the fact that he could play 14 holes until the injury got so bad he could resume can be seen as "sudden illness" (6-8 (iv)) and thus there's no penalty, he just doesn't enter this scorecard and doesn't get a .1.

If you want to be sure, 6-8 also holds the answer...

If the player discontinues play without specific permission from the Committee, he must report to the Committee as soon as practicable. If he does so and the Committee considers his reason satisfactory, there is no penalty. Otherwise, the player is disqualified.

So if you're not sure his 'niggling injury' that eventually caused him to walk of can be seen as 'sudden illness' in the sense if 6-8 (iv), just ask the committee and let them decide.
 
You might argue that even though he was already injured when he started the round, the fact that he could play 14 holes until the injury got so bad he could resume can be seen as "sudden illness" (6-8 (iv)) and thus there's no penalty, he just doesn't enter this scorecard and doesn't get a .1.

If you want to be sure, 6-8 also holds the answer...



So if you're not sure his 'niggling injury' that eventually caused him to walk of can be seen as 'sudden illness' in the sense if 6-8 (iv), just ask the committee and let them decide.

Many Thanks ,
If he does enter his score card ? should the committee accept it & allow the .1?
 
We have a notice on our changing room board staying that if you start a round feeling unwell and subsequently do not complete the round then it counts as a NR. If you start feeling fine and are taken ill/injured then it doesn't count.
 
We have a notice on our changing room board staying that if you start a round feeling unwell and subsequently do not complete the round then it counts as a NR. If you start feeling fine and are taken ill/injured then it doesn't count.

A couple of years ago I started a comp that injury prevented me finishing. I had a .1 added that put me on to a higher handicap that would have lasted throughout the winter. I checked with Golf England and they said that my card shouldn't be put through the the system and therefore no added .1. I eventually got it knocked off
 
Thanks for the replys guys & Gals , If the player put the card in are there grounds for the club not to accept it & not allow the .1 .. ?

The committee should be made aware of all the facts of the situation (including the injury prior to playing) and should decide one way or the other. My personal opinion is that if he started with a known problem then the scorecard should count.
 
The committee should be made aware of all the facts of the situation (including the injury prior to playing) and should decide one way or the other. My personal opinion is that if he started with a known problem then the scorecard should count.

I'm inclined to agree.
I suppose it depends on the injury and the likelihood of it getting worse during the round.
I'm riddled with injuries of varying types, mainly knees and ankles, and these could get worse during a round if I step awkwardly on uneven ground for example..
But if I start a round and aggravate an injury I think I'd probably not expect the card to count.
However if I went out knowing I was getting regular back spasms and then got floored by one to the point of needing to come off the course, there could be a case for accepting a card.
Tricky......
 
Thanks for the replys guys & Gals , If the player put the card in are there grounds for the club not to accept it & not allow the .1 .. ?

Do I understand this right - the player actually would like the committee to accept the card and get the .1?


Generally I disagree with the others who claimed the card should count since the industry was already there before he started the round.

People should be able to start a round with an injury and not be punished if the injury gets worse during the round.
 
Do I understand this right - the player actually would like the committee to accept the card and get the .1?


Generally I disagree with the others who claimed the card should count since the industry was already there before he started the round.

People should be able to start a round with an injury and not be punished if the injury gets worse during the round.

I think there may be a possibility of that,,
 
Last par 3 and two's club , otherwise the 13th green woulda been the optimum time, as 14 heads back out the course ..

Im just of the opinion your card shouldn't be accepted at all , just couldn't find the appropriate Rule


Thanks to all for your help tho
 
Last par 3 and two's club , otherwise the 13th green woulda been the optimum time, as 14 heads back out the course ..

Im just of the opinion your card shouldn't be accepted at all , just couldn't find the appropriate Rule


Thanks to all for your help tho
Was it a Stableford Comp?
 
I somehow failed to upload a post last night asking the same question as Paul. In terms of his being disqualified or not from the competition, it matters whether it was a medal or stableford.

In terms of handicapping, scores recorded when a player has been disqualified may be accepted or may not (resulting in a +0.1), depending on the reason for the DQ. Appendix P (pp81-82) of the CONGU manual gives the detail.
http://scottishgolf.org/wp-content/uploads/CONGU-UHS-2012-2015.pdf

Discontinuance of play is not accepted unless the Committee accepts the reason for discontinuing.
 
Last edited:
Was it a Stableford Comp?

I somehow failed to upload a post last night asking the same question as Paul. In terms of his being disqualified or not from the competition, it matters whether it was a medal or stableford.

In terms of handicapping, scores recorded when a player has been disqualified may be accepted or may not (resulting in a +0.1), depending on the reason for the DQ. Appendix P (pp81-82) of the CONGU manual gives the detail.
http://scottishgolf.org/wp-content/uploads/CONGU-UHS-2012-2015.pdf

Discontinuance of play is not accepted unless the Committee accepts the reason for discontinuing.

Sorry Guys had internet problems last night

It was a stableford comp ..
 
Sorry Guys had internet problems last night

It was a stableford comp ..

So when he walked in did he NR the holes he didn't play and enter his score or report to the committee he'd left the course through injury?
 
So when he walked in did he NR the holes he didn't play and enter his score or report to the committee he'd left the course through injury?

I havent checked TBH mate .. but nobody reports anything like that to the committee in our place if im being honest , or at least ive never heard of it bn reported
 
I havent checked TBH mate .. but nobody reports anything like that to the committee in our place if im being honest , or at least ive never heard of it bn reported
I posted something similiar a while back which Colin and others were very helpful with, to me though there is an issue with Stableford than you can simply miss holes out without it being a problem and our course it has happened were if the weather is a bit miserable people will walk in and play Par 3's on the way in, in the hope of getting a 2 and simply putting NR for the holes not played.
I accept that's the rules but when a stipulated round of Golf is 18 holes(depending on comp rules), personally I think it is wrong for a person to pick and choose how many of them they play, no issue with someone attempting a hole and putting NR, but to simply decide not to play certain holes imo is just wrong.
There was a large thread on here going on about intent and how that can change decisions, why can't the same clause be used for other areas?
 
Top