In the hole or not?

Simbo

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
1,372
Visit site


No idea of the situation here, someone just sent me the photo. A hole in one or not? If not what's the procedure here.
Is there not a rule that says the cup must be a specific distance below the grass to prevent this type of scenario?
 
The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.
 
From the Definitions in the Rules of Golf:

The "hole" must be 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep. If a lining is used, it must be sunk at least 1 inch (25.4 mm) below the putting green surface, unless the nature of the soil makes it impracticable to do so; its outer diameter must not exceed 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm).

I cannot imagine that any self-respecting golf club would have a hole like the one shown.
 
From the Definitions in the Rules of Golf:

The "hole" must be 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep. If a lining is used, it must be sunk at least 1 inch (25.4 mm) below the putting green surface, unless the nature of the soil makes it impracticable to do so; its outer diameter must not exceed 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm).

I cannot imagine that any self-respecting golf club would have a hole like the one shown.

I played Aspley Guise and Woburn Sands golf course in the summer this year and they had the same liners as in the picture, I would say the liner was even nearer to the putting surface as well. I'm sure at least one of my putts "rode" the liner and never dropped in.
 
Actually.....I would argue that by lifting the ball, repairing the pitch mark that the ball is sitting on, put the rim back where it should be then the ball, when replacing will fall in. Your not repairing the hole, just the pitch mark the ball is sitting in. Remember, if your ball is jammed between the flag and the hole you can push the flag away for it to fall in.

Technically the ball is not holed, but can you put the rim back and if you can, can the ball be lifted to do so.......
 
From the Definitions in the Rules of Golf:

The "hole" must be 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep. If a lining is used, it must be sunk at least 1 inch (25.4 mm) below the putting green surface, unless the nature of the soil makes it impracticable to do so; its outer diameter must not exceed 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm).

I cannot imagine that any self-respecting golf club would have a hole like the one shown.

The sleeve is deep enough...I think. What we see is a plastic white top liner above the sleeve, to make it look like the top portion is painted. I think..?
 
What ever it is. It looks deliberate

It is a very clever advert by Vice Golf

I am interested to know from an actual rules official the answer.

The obvious is that if you repair the hole it would fall in, but as it has come to rest and not fallen in, you mark at the side.

I doubt it is actually possible for this ever to happen
 
Last edited:
It is a very clever advert by Vice Golf

I am interested to know from an actual rules official the answer.

The obvious is that if you repair the hole it would fall in, but as it has come to rest and not fallen in, you mark at the side.

I doubt it is actually possible for this ever to happen

its been answered, repair damage an place the ball on the lip of the hole.
 
From the Definitions in the Rules of Golf:

The "hole" must be 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep. If a lining is used, it must be sunk at least 1 inch (25.4 mm) below the putting green surface, unless the nature of the soil makes it impracticable to do so; its outer diameter must not exceed 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm).

I cannot imagine that any self-respecting golf club would have a hole like the one shown.

Aye you'd think so but we use them and it irks me somewhat :(:angry:
 
It is a very clever advert by Vice Golf

I am interested to know from an actual rules official the answer.

The obvious is that if you repair the hole it would fall in, but as it has come to rest and not fallen in, you mark at the side.

I doubt it is actually possible for this ever to happen

if it had been a pro v1 it would have dropped .. cheap knock offs lol
 
It is a very clever advert by Vice Golf

I am interested to know from an actual rules official the answer.

The obvious is that if you repair the hole it would fall in, but as it has come to rest and not fallen in, you mark at the side.

I doubt it is actually possible for this ever to happen

Last winter my mate Chris Ratcliffe holed his tee shot at Dunbar 10th, slam dunk. The edge of the hole had a very similar impact mark to what's in the photo. Mind you, thats the first time I've seen that in 40 odd years of golf.
 
Last winter my mate Chris Ratcliffe holed his tee shot at Dunbar 10th, slam dunk. The edge of the hole had a very similar impact mark to what's in the photo. Mind you, thats the first time I've seen that in 40 odd years of golf.

I've had 2 holes in one in my life. One in 2011 and one in May this year. Both at that very hole and both in medals!
 
I doubt it is actually possible for this ever to happen
When I saw the photo my immediate impression was that the green must be very soft and the ball pitched with some force exactly where it ended up, pushing the plastic liner aside.

We tried those liners at my club for a very short period a couple of years ago and quickly decided they are not a good idea.
 
Who cares what the rules say, I would count it as a hole in one. Beggars cant be choosers!!
 
When I saw the photo my immediate impression was that the green must be very soft and the ball pitched with some force exactly where it ended up, pushing the plastic liner aside.

We tried those liners at my club for a very short period a couple of years ago and quickly decided they are not a good idea.

Ah.....so it is a liner above the sleeve to make it look like the hole edge is painted. Never seen that before now.
 
Top