'Improving your lie'

Dannyj1984

Assistant Pro
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
239
Location
Stockport,Cheshire
Visit site
I was recently having a skim through the rule book over something and came across the rule Regarding when your ball is in the rough and states you cannot flatten the grass in front of your ball, I regularly find myself in the rough and my best club for getting it out and up the fairway is my hybrid, having a wider sole than an iron means when I set up the grass underneath is automatically flattened, it would be impossible not to unless I played as in a hazard and don't ground the Club.

Am I interpreting this correctly?

ThNks
 
You must not press the clubhead down on the grass. But you may simply rest it under its own weight.

13-2 the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs:
and

13-2/12 Except in a hazard, Rule 13-2 permits a player to ground his club lightly behind the ball. If the club was grounded only lightly, there is no breach of Rule 13-2 or any other Rule. However, if the club was pressed on the ground, the player was in breach of Rule 13-2
 
Last edited:
Top