Improved area of swing

Leftie

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
4,406
Location
19th hole
Visit site
A slightly different take on the old chestnut of knocking leaves and twigs off a tree on practice swing :rolleyes:

The other day, my FC teed up on the edge of the tee box, played his shot and seriously damaged an overhanging tree with his extended follow through (Big Barry is a tall lad). I know. I know. Not a problem, but it got me thinking.

If he had missed the ball (air shot) and then played another shot at the un-moved ball, is there now potentially a penalty? Having already played a shot at the ball, I presume that the ball is now in play and the area of swing on follow through has been improved.

And before you ask, yes I'm bored. Course closed again due to weather. :(
 
Don't understand the specific nature of your question?

If he's caused the damage whilst making a legitimate stroke there's nothing further to consider.
 
no penalty. no different than taking a swing at a ball thats in thick rough, going clean under the ball and leaving it sitting on firm gound for your next attempt
 
Reading between the lines of your original post, it's probably relevant that if the player seriously damaged this tree with his practice swing (such that it made a difference to his intended swing) then he would have a penalty (13-2) even though his ball wasn't yet in play.

If this wasn't what you were trying to get at then apologies for confusing things!
 
Reading between the lines of your original post, it's probably relevant that if the player seriously damaged this tree with his practice swing (such that it made a difference to his intended swing) then he would have a penalty (13-2) even though his ball wasn't yet in play.

If this wasn't what you were trying to get at then apologies for confusing things!


The first wasn't a practice swing. It was an air shot.
 
Next you'll be asking for the moon on a stick and an end to world hunger. :whistle:

We're not discussing world peace or resolving the rest of the world's problems, merely the Rules of golf. By comparison, a trivial issue - leave the great world issues to the great world leaders and hope they don't post here.
 
Hopefully with the OP answered I can add a hypothetical

Say it was a practice swing and not an air shot & it did improve the area of swing
Say it happened on 1st tee

I'm guessing no penalty?
 
Hopefully with the OP answered I can add a hypothetical

Say it was a practice swing and not an air shot & it did improve the area of swing
Say it happened on 1st tee

I'm guessing no penalty?

There is a clue in post #2

If he's caused the damage whilst making a legitimate stroke there's nothing further to consider.

But see
http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-13,d13-2-14
 
There is a clue in post #2

If he's caused the damage whilst making a legitimate stroke there's nothing further to consider.

But see
http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-13,d13-2-14

Cheers, so it makes no difference that the stipulated round hasn't commenced yet? (not just that the ball is not in play on any given hole)



Edit:

Nope I’m confused again (not difficult)

Surely prior to a stipulated round the Rules of Golf don’t apply or do they. Which rules are in effect before you play a round?

Can’t I ask advice on club selection from an FC while walking to the 1st tee without penalty
The stipulated round only starts when I make a stoke at the ball so if my practice swing happens to improve the area of the swing on the 1st tee what's the breach since I haven’t started my round yet

My logic (& it could easily be flawed) is that on the 1st tee and before a stroke I can do lots of things penalty free that I’d get hammered for on the 2nd tee
 
Last edited:
My logic (& it could easily be flawed) is that on the 1st tee and before a stroke I can do lots of things penalty free that I’d get hammered for on the 2nd tee

Generally you are correct but 13-2/14 says otherwise in this situation.

13-2 mentions 'intended swing'. Whether or not the ball is in play or whether or not you have started the stipulated round, the rule applies because the the player intends to swing.
 
Generally you are correct but 13-2/14 says otherwise in this situation.

13-2 mentions 'intended swing'. Whether or not the ball is in play or whether or not you have started the stipulated round, the rule applies because the the player intends to swing.

Cool, thanks

Proves once again that every word matters in the RoG :D
 
Top