I called a 2 shot penalty on myself and lost a board comp on countback

Siren

Tour Rookie
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,399
Visit site
As the topic says really.

In a 3ball and started the round on absolute fire, kept my head and had a few lucky breaks, I was honestly starting to think this is my day in the sun.

Then we got to the 15th par 4 , slightly hooked my drive but hit a very nice 4 iron to just off the green. One of my playing partners was around 5 yards infront of me for 3 while my other playing partner was having a nightmare and on the adjacent fairway. Now he hits a punch under the trees and im walking onwards shouting go go go to his ball when I accidentally move my ball literally 2 inches by kicking it while walking.

Neither of my playing partners noticed it and seemed bemused when I picked up my ball and declared no score (after a chip and a putt) untill I explained what had happened.

Ended up losing with 36 points (stableford comp) Tied 1st but lost on countback, while also playing off 18 (all club comps are max 18 handicap). I found out today I had just missed out, but instead of being gutted I felt a strange sense of pride.

Would you have done the same?
 
Last edited:
Yes - I called myself yesterday.

Playing Par 4 fifth 400 yards over a ridge, drove down right hand side of fairway, one of our three ball in long grass to left of fairway couldnt find ball, put my trolley to the left of my ball (Titleist 4) and went to help, he was just about to walk back to tee to play when he found his ball.

Due to the ridge, players on the tee cant see us still on fairway and reasonably assumed we had moved on as I walk back to my trolley there is a Titleist 4 on the left side of my trolley, I hit a seven iron pin high and six feet from the pin giving a reasonable birdie chance then as i put club back in the bag I see MY ball on the other side of the trolley!!

had to walk to mark where I had played wrong ball from walk to and from green to collect wrong ball and then duffed mine into a bunker and ended up with an 8 including the two shot penalty - that probably cost me 4 shots!! not enough to win BUT would have been a money place and avoid the .1 back
 
Leaving aside the correct measure of calling yourself on a breach (called penalty on myself in a practice round last weekend as the ball ricocheted back off a tree root & hit my leg, I think majority would do the same, although I do believe there are more cheats in golf than we'd all like to believe)

Now that it appears you signed for an incorrect score, how do you feel & what next?

Edit: I should add that I'm not asking the above in any factious manner and hope it doesn't come over that way, I genuinely want to know given the way you originally felt and the comp result. I know that there's no rule breach for signing for a higher score & the higher score will stand but interested nonetheless
 
Last edited:
This is why I have the R&A rules app on my iPhone so when there is a problem then boom it's sorted!
It was funny that one of the handicap committee didn't know there was a rule that if a ball was plugged throughout the green you could take a free drop! Crazy, rule 25-2. That opened up a few eyes!

Gutted for your loss, but get the app as its free or a copy of the rules book!
 
called myself last week for marking my ball on the fringe. We weren't sure of the penalty so waited until after the round before checking and adding the penalty before putting the card in.
 
Missed out qualifying for the Club Championship matchplay stages by a shot after calling a penalty on myself when the ball came back off the bunker face and hit me. Again no one saw it happening but I declared it.

These things happen.
 
This is why I have the R&A rules app on my iPhone so when there is a problem then boom it's sorted!
It was funny that one of the handicap committee didn't know there was a rule that if a ball was plugged throughout the green you could take a free drop! Crazy, rule 25-2. That opened up a few eyes!

Gutted for your loss, but get the app as its free or a copy of the rules book!

Not sure if this affects your particular situation, but the rule is closely mown through the green, which usually means fairways, fringes and wrong tee boxes.
Unless there's a local rule allowing it, you don't get free relief from an embedded ball in the rough.
 
Then we got to the 15th par 4 , slightly hooked my drive but hit a very nice 4 iron to just off the green. One of my playing partners was around 5 yards infront of me for 3 while my other playing partner was having a nightmare and on the adjacent fairway. Now he hits a punch under the trees and im walking onwards shouting go go go to his ball when I accidentally move my ball literally 2 inches by kicking it while walking.

As others have said, it's only a 1 stroke penalty but you must replace the ball.

You don't mention that you did that, in which case you incur a 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place but as far as I know it's 2 strokes total not 1 for moving plus 2 for the wrong place, so the good news in a perverse sort of way is that you got the penalty right in a roundabout way and didn't sign for a wrong score.

I await someone more knowledgeable telling me I'm wrong.

Reminds me of someone in a matchplay final taking a penalty on someone else's say so that wasn't right..... :whistle:
 
You gave it away by the look of it...

2 to the fringe, + 1 pen + chip and putt is 5 or 6 if it was chip and 2 putts but still a point or 2... I'm not sure pride is what I would feel.
 
As others have said, it's only a 1 stroke penalty but you must replace the ball.

You don't mention that you did that, in which case you incur a 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place but as far as I know it's 2 strokes total not 1 for moving plus 2 for the wrong place, so the good news in a perverse sort of way is that you got the penalty right in a roundabout way and didn't sign for a wrong score.

I await someone more knowledgeable telling me I'm wrong.

Reminds me of someone in a matchplay final taking a penalty on someone else's say so that wasn't right..... :whistle:

you are not wrong :)
 
I have the old R&A rules app on my iPhone for just this sort of thing as I wouldn't have known the exact ruling but it give you answers instantly.

Before I got that I had a situation where I was unsure of a rule in a board comp at my old club, had a good score going for a PB hit my into the trees at the par 3, 17th but it finished in a hazard in which runs through there and down the side of the hole. Took a drop that I where I was advised I could take it by a playing partner who was on the committee at the time, played the hole and signed the card. Went home in the knowledge i'd played well and even with the penalty from the drop i'd still shot a PB of 80 at the time playing off 15, but something was niggling me about the drop so next day rang the pro shop asked for advice on the situation as was told i'd taken an incorrect drop, so called through to the secretary told him what happened and DQ'd myself for it. The following day HDID results went up there was me at the bottom of the pile with a DQ but the score I had posted even if i'd taken the correct drop would've been enough to win the thing! Very annoying but more satisfying knowing I did the right thing.

So i'm certain you did the right thing and should feel happy about it but next time get the correct ruling before signing and you'd have your name up in lights.... I'm still waiting for my turn after the above incident but C'est la vie.
 
Leaving aside the correct measure of calling yourself on a breach (called penalty on myself in a practice round last weekend as the ball ricocheted back off a tree root & hit my leg, I think majority would do the same, although I do believe there are more cheats in golf than we'd all like to believe)

Now that it appears you signed for an incorrect score, how do you feel & what next?

Edit: I should add that I'm not asking the above in any factious manner and hope it doesn't come over that way, I genuinely want to know given the way you originally felt and the comp result. I know that there's no rule breach for signing for a higher score & the higher score will stand but interested nonetheless

Ill nip up the club before I leave for work and tell the manager. Weird thing is I told him what had happened yesterday and told him about the 2 shot penalty, DQ and back to 19.8 I guess.
 
As others have said, it's only a 1 stroke penalty but you must replace the ball.

You don't mention that you did that, in which case you incur a 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place but as far as I know it's 2 strokes total not 1 for moving plus 2 for the wrong place, so the good news in a perverse sort of way is that you got the penalty right in a roundabout way and didn't sign for a wrong score.

I await someone more knowledgeable telling me I'm wrong.

Reminds me of someone in a matchplay final taking a penalty on someone else's say so that wasn't right..... :whistle:

I did replace the ball, now I feel even worse lol. The RA app is now on my phone.

You gave it away by the look of it...

2 to the fringe, + 1 pen + chip and putt is 5 or 6 if it was chip and 2 putts but still a point or 2... I'm not sure pride is what I would feel.

As I didnt know it was a 1 shot pen it was 2 to fringe 2 shot pen, chip and missed putt that adds up to six. The pride comes from the fact my name would have been on that board for as long as the club stands for all the wrong reasons if I had not said anything.
 
Top