How a high handicapper bogeys a long par four.

Neil20

Club Champion
Visit site
I'm talentless.

I doubt many new posters open up with that without it being a sympathy hunt. The difference is I'm talentless and proud.
There's no point rueing the fact, it won't change my level of talent.

A quick intro then into what the post is about, I won't bore you for long.

I took up golf just under two years ago. I don't know why it took me so long, but anyway.
A year ago I started playing on a regular basis with someone from this forum, I think it's the sort of place where you can name names, but I won't just in case. He's free to chime in. Most of my musings on golf come as a direct result of the fact he's helped with my game, although the musings are often my own.

There's also no chance I'd have ever broken 90 without his help as I doubt many pros would have the patience to understand my approach, and I doubt I'd have had the patience to listen to most pros.

I'm not conventional in my approach to golf, but then I'm talentless, so being conventional would just result in me being bad. More bad that is.

So, I recently got cut to 19.5 by breaking 90 for the first time and it occured to me that us high handicappers think about golf backwards.
So, to the 20+'s out there, think about how you bogey a 420 yard par four for a moment, then scroll down to how I think about it.

1) Tee shot.....

Aha, you're thinking about the tee shot. Well it appears to come first so that is no surprise.
I feel that this is going to lead to a lot of pressure on the range. Where is that tee shot going? Infinite distance?
Is 240 yards enough? What about 200? Hey, I can do 200, what about 205?

Sod the tee shot. Let's play the hole backwards.

Shot 5: 3 foot putt holed.

What a lovely easy way to finish a hole. Not only that but I can practise this for free, without using any energy and it doesn't have to take a lot of time.