coley167
Medal Winner
I had a bit of a debate with our trainee pro today regarding an incident that occurred involving one of his playing partners today. His PP was putting and somehow managed to hit the ball twice in making a stroke.
He advised me that his playing partner had applied a 2 shot penalty to his score. I queried this as I was under the impression that hitting the ball twice just counted at 2 shots.
We checked the rule book and then the R&A decisions book but for some reason our interpretation of the decision was different.
The rule in question is:
14-4 - Striking the Ball More Than Once
If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.
There were 2 interpretations of this. My question is:
You've hit your tee shot on a par 3. You then stand over your ball to play your second shot. As you make you stroke you manage to hit the ball twice. The ball goes in the hole. The debate is would you have holed out for 3 or 4 shots?
We both had a very strong view that our interpretation is correct. Can a rules guru please clarify.
I'd appreciate your help. I was going to query with the R&A but was hoping someone could confirm on here without having to bother them
He advised me that his playing partner had applied a 2 shot penalty to his score. I queried this as I was under the impression that hitting the ball twice just counted at 2 shots.
We checked the rule book and then the R&A decisions book but for some reason our interpretation of the decision was different.
The rule in question is:
14-4 - Striking the Ball More Than Once
If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.
There were 2 interpretations of this. My question is:
You've hit your tee shot on a par 3. You then stand over your ball to play your second shot. As you make you stroke you manage to hit the ball twice. The ball goes in the hole. The debate is would you have holed out for 3 or 4 shots?
We both had a very strong view that our interpretation is correct. Can a rules guru please clarify.
I'd appreciate your help. I was going to query with the R&A but was hoping someone could confirm on here without having to bother them