Hitting opponents bag

Status
Not open for further replies.

hovis

Tour Winner
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
6,266
Visit site
I'm confident i got this one right but here goes.

Playing a match play yesterday at my mates club.

I'm chipping onto the green from the fringe towards a flag 40 feet away. My opponent left his bag on my line but behind the flag.
I full on blade my chip, hit his bag and bounces back towards the pin 1 foot away. They said it was a two stroke penalty and i said "no, play it as it lies as it wasn't my or my playing partners bag"
 
You have the choice of either playing it as it now lies or cancelling the stroke and replaying it!

No penalty in Matchplay (nor Strokeplay) for the reason you stated.

Rule 19 gives the various requirements/options and penalties - and it is NEVER a 2 stroke penalty!

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-19

The 'Penalty' at the bottom of the Rule is for not applying appropriate clause of the Rule btw., not the Penalty OF the Rule!
 
And it's only a one shot penalty for hitting yours or your PP bag
 
And it's only a one shot penalty for hitting yours or your PP bag

Careful Phil! There is no penalty for hitting a fellow competitor’s bag in stroke play or an opponent’s bag in match play, as Foxholer explained.

The only penalty that could arise is for hitting your own bag and yes, that’s one stroke.

And before there is any confusion about it, a bag is only one example of equipment. The rules apply equally to a ball stopped or deflected by any piece of equipment.
 
Careful Phil! There is no penalty for hitting a fellow competitor’s bag in stroke play or an opponent’s bag in match play, as Foxholer explained.

The only penalty that could arise is for hitting your own bag and yes, that’s one stroke.

And before there is any confusion about it, a bag is only one example of equipment. The rules apply equally to a ball stopped or deflected by any piece of equipment.

?! What do I need to be careful about - I know there is no penalty for hitting a FC bag in stroke play or matchplay hence why I never said there was ?
 
And it's only a one shot penalty for hitting yours or your PP bag

Is anyone aware if this rule has changed over the last few years.

I seem to remember losing the hole in a foursomes match when my partner teed off and the ball hit my bag, 1993 ish.

Either we were wrong, or the rule has changed, or I remember incorrectly.

Ta
 
Is anyone aware if this rule has changed over the last few years.

I seem to remember losing the hole in a foursomes match when my partner teed off and the ball hit my bag, 1993 ish.

Either we were wrong, or the rule has changed, or I remember incorrectly.

Ta

I'm not sure exactly but would guess about about 3 years ago it changed to 1 shot
 
Is anyone aware if this rule has changed over the last few years.

I seem to remember losing the hole in a foursomes match when my partner teed off and the ball hit my bag, 1993 ish.

Either we were wrong, or the rule has changed, or I remember incorrectly.

Ta

Changed in Rulebook to 1 Stroke from 1/1/2008

Previously Loss of Hole (only for the Player who played the Stroke in your case, not whole side!) or 2 Strokes for Strokeplay.
 
Last edited:
Jeepers fellas, the answer he was after was that there was no penalty, why are we discussing other permutations other than some odd online phallic rulebook wanging?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top