Hitting ball on green

evahakool

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
704
Location
scotland
Visit site
Played in a 4 ball matchplay today on one of the greens one of my opponents hit my ball whilst he was putting,his pp asked him if he wanted my ball marked and he said no, ( I was busy raking a bunker at the time)

I thought he would get a one shot penalty for this but not be out of the hole,not 100% sure if this is correct.

His pp thought it was my responsibility to mark my ball and I should have got a penalty as well,again I'm not 100% sure but I didn't think it was a penalty for me.

If someone could clarify this ruling for me I would be grateful .
 
Played in a 4 ball matchplay today on one of the greens one of my opponents hit my ball whilst he was putting,his pp asked him if he wanted my ball marked and he said no, ( I was busy raking a bunker at the time)

I thought he would get a one shot penalty for this but not be out of the hole,not 100% sure if this is correct.

His pp thought it was my responsibility to mark my ball and I should have got a penalty as well,again I'm not 100% sure but I didn't think it was a penalty for me.

If someone could clarify this ruling for me I would be grateful .

Not sure the exact punishment in matchplay but im sure the penalty would go to the person who putted and hit your ball - not you
 
19-5a. No penalty in matchplay

By Another Ball
a. At Rest
If a player's ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies. In match play, there is no penalty. In stroke play, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.
 
You must replace your ball (the ball that was at rest). The ball that struck the stationary ball is played where it comes to rest.

In match play there is no penalty. Had it been stroke play, there would be a two stroke penalty to the player whose ball struck the ball at rest.

Rule 19-5 applies to the moving ball. Rule 18-5 to the ball at rest.
 
Both balls were on the putting green, I did replace my ball, seems strange there is a penalty for stroke play but not matchplay.

What about the ruling where one of my opponents thought I should have got a penalty for not marking my ball?
 
Both balls were on the putting green, I did replace my ball, seems strange there is a penalty for stroke play but not matchplay.

What about the ruling where one of my opponents thought I should have got a penalty for not marking my ball?

Your opponent is a plum
 
Both balls were on the putting green, I did replace my ball, seems strange there is a penalty for stroke play but not matchplay.

What about the ruling where one of my opponents thought I should have got a penalty for not marking my ball?

He was wrong!

However, you must mark and move it if he asks you to - or lose/be out of the hole

Reason for the difference is because of the difference between Matchplay and Strokeplay. In Matchplay, everyone who might have a view of the situation is (assumed to be) present, so a 'decision/vote' can be taken. In strokeplay, not all parties with an interest are present, so ruling is different. Similar logic exists elsewhere - such as if a player tees up in front of Teeing Area (no penalty, but stroke can be recalled in Matchplay; 2SP in Strokeplay).
 
Last edited:
He was wrong!

However, you must mark and move it if he asks you to - or lose/be out of the hole

Yes I did think he was wrong, I would normally always mark my ball but as I said I was busy raking a bunker at the time.
Also knew you have to mark your ball if asked, thanks for the replys.
 
He was wrong!

However, you must mark and move it if he asks you to - or lose/be out of the hole

Reason for the difference is because of the difference between Matchplay and Strokeplay. In Matchplay, everyone who might have a view of the situation is (assumed to be) present, so a 'decision/vote' can be taken. In strokeplay, not all parties with an interest are present, so ruling is different. Similar logic exists elsewhere - such as if a player tees up in front of Teeing Area (no penalty, but stroke can be recalled in Matchplay; 2SP in Strokeplay).

Ok I can see the logic in that, thanks for the information.
 
Interesting. Supposing your ball had deflected his ball into the hole?

A player has a right under Rule 22 to lift a ball that might assist the play of any other player.

If after playing from the bunker your ball finished right next to the hole and seeing a chance to take advantage of this, your OP putted while you were raking the bunker and went in off, does this stand or is there any penalty as your OP infringed your rights by not giving you the opportunity to lift and mark your ball. Cant see anything specific in rules or decisions only Decisions 3-4/1 (but that is stroke play) and/or (by analogy) 16-2/2)? Would there only be an issue if you had said you want to mark it before he played?

I may be missing something. Any thoughts?
 
Can't tell if it is stroke or match play. (Does OP mean opponent?)

There is no penalty for interfering with your rights but there is a consequence for striking the ball at rest.

19-5. By Another Ball

a. At Rest

If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies. In match play, there is no penalty. In stroke play, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.


The ball that was knocked into the hole must be replaced.


18-5. By Another Ball

If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.
 
Last edited:
Interesting. Supposing your ball had deflected his ball into the hole?

A player has a right under Rule 22 to lift a ball that might assist the play of any other player.

If after playing from the bunker your ball finished right next to the hole and seeing a chance to take advantage of this, your OP putted while you were raking the bunker and went in off, does this stand or is there any penalty as your OP infringed your rights by not giving you the opportunity to lift and mark your ball. Cant see anything specific in rules or decisions only Decisions 3-4/1 (but that is stroke play) and/or (by analogy) 16-2/2)? Would there only be an issue if you had said you want to mark it before he played?

I may be missing something. Any thoughts?

In stroke play, assuming your fellow competitor's ball was on the green when he putted and achieved the in-off from your ball, his ball would be holed but with the 2 stroke penalty for striking yours. You replace your ball.

In match play, his ball would be holed with no penalty and you replace your ball.

In match play if you called out that you wanted to mark and lift your ball and your opponent in match play ignored you he should lose the hole for a breach of Rule 22-1 don't you think?
 
In match play, his ball would be holed with no penalty and you replace your ball.
What about rule 18-5?

I think we're loosing track of who is who.

The poster (A) hit out of a bunker and his ball came to rest by the hole. He raked the bunker, Meanwhile, his FC/opponent (B) putted his ball on the green and it struck A's ball and knocked it in the hole.

A's ball falls under rule 19-5 and B's ball under 18-5.

A plays his as it lies, B replaces his.

Whether there is any consequence under rule 22 depends on facts we don't have.
 
Last edited:
I'm not quite with you. 18-5 requires mashie niblick to replace his ball which was at rest. 19-5a requires his opponent to play his ball as it lies after the deflection - in this case it is holed.
 
Read the facts closely, you have the wrong ball being holed. It was the ball at rest. The post is not clearly written (and went in off?) but that is my take on it.
 
Read the facts closely, you have the wrong ball being holed. It was the ball at rest. The post is not clearly written (and went in off?) but that is my take on it.

sorry but in this case you are making things up, and ignoring clearly stated facts, as you go along!

1. the OP, post one, line one, sentence one states that it was matchplay
2. a ball going 'in off' is not knocking another ball into the hole
3. there is a penalty for infringing the players rights (to mark his ball) but as the player didn't say that he wished to mark his ball before the shot was played his rights were not infringed here. It's his responsibility after playing to establish if he wished to mark and he didn't.
 
Read the facts closely, I did you have the wrong ball being holed. I don't think so! It was the ball at rest. The post is not clearly written (and went in off?) but that is my take on it.


Ah well, went in off quite clearly says to me that the opponent's ball struck M-N's ball at rest and went into the hole after being deflected. That's what "in off" would mean in snooker or billiards.
 
Top