Hit 2 balls with the same stroke

Spikey

Newbie
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
8
Visit site
Done a quick search on here and R&A but can't find a definitive answer.

Playing a charity round last week, and I sent my second shot into some thick cabbage to the side of the green. Eventually we located and identified my ball, buried quite deeply. I went to hack it out, and made reasonable contact with the ball, but was stopped in my tracks by cries of surprise from my playing partners, as 2 balls came flying out of the rough to land on the green.
Obviously, there must have been a second ball hidden either underneath or behind my ball which I had hit whilst playing it.

At this point, no one had a clue what the ruling was, so we continued with the hole (playing my original ball from where it landed), and added one shot to my score.

Anyone any idea what the correct ruling would be? Hit wrong ball?
 
No penalty. Carry on with your ball as it lies.

Decision 15/2 Player's Stroke at Own Ball Dislodges Concealed Ball

Q. A player plays a stroke with his own ball in the rough and also hits an old abandoned ball which was hidden beneath his ball. Since he struck the hidden ball, did he play a wrong ball?

A. No. The player played a stroke with his own ball, not with the hidden ball. Since he did not play a stroke with the hidden ball, Rule 15-3 is not applicable. The player must play his ball as it lies.


If you think about it, you did absolutely nothing wrong so why should you be penalised?
 
Done a quick search on here and R&A but can't find a definitive answer.

Playing a charity round last week, and I sent my second shot into some thick cabbage to the side of the green. Eventually we located and identified my ball, buried quite deeply. I went to hack it out, and made reasonable contact with the ball, but was stopped in my tracks by cries of surprise from my playing partners, as 2 balls came flying out of the rough to land on the green.
Obviously, there must have been a second ball hidden either underneath or behind my ball which I had hit whilst playing it.

At this point, no one had a clue what the ruling was, so we continued with the hole (playing my original ball from where it landed), and added one shot to my score.

Anyone any idea what the correct ruling would be? Hit wrong ball?

decision 15/2. Play your ball as it lies and no penalty.
 
Top