Handicap changes during a match

nickjdavis

Head Pro
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
5,444
Visit site
4BBB match....all square after 18 so players head back to the first for sudden death, they are able to play 2 holes without settling the match before darkness prevents further play.

They arrange to come back two evenings later to recommence the sudden death play off at the third tee...two holes are played without settling the match before the players are forced off due to the greens being unplayable due to heavy rain.

Due to holidays the players now cannot schedule further play in the match until a date much later in the month.

What happens if one of the players handicaps should change in the intervening period as a result of being able to play in a qualifying comp whilt the rest are away? Does the match restart (from the 5th) with shots based on the original handicaps held when the sudden death started...or are players stroke allowances for the remaining 14 holes adjusted based on the new handicap?

I personally think that the allowances are recalculated but cannot find any reference to a decision anywhere. Correct me or point me in the right direction please.
 
May I agree as well?

6.2 a Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps....

Those handicaps are used for the duration of the match
 
May I agree as well?

6.2 a Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps....

Those handicaps are used for the duration of the match

Thanks....so bloody easy I missed it in the actual rules themselves and was looking for a decision that covered a match stretching over several weeks!!
 
Thanks....so bloody easy I missed it in the actual rules themselves and was looking for a decision that covered a match stretching over several weeks!!

Actually I didn't miss it....because on the R&A web site in the rules explorer, rule 6.2a makes no such statement.

This is a direct copy and paste of 6-2a...
a. Match Play
Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps. If a player begins a match having declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this affects the number of strokes given or received, he is disqualified; otherwise, the player must play off the declared handicap.


there is nothing on there regarding the duration of a match.
 
Actually I didn't miss it....because on the R&A web site in the rules explorer, rule 6.2a makes no such statement.

This is a direct copy and paste of 6-2a...
a. Match Play
Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps. If a player begins a match having declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this affects the number of strokes given or received, he is disqualified; otherwise, the player must play off the declared handicap.


there is nothing on there regarding the duration of a match.
As there is nothing mentioning a change of handicap, the presumption must be that the starting handicap is used until the match finishes.
 
As there is nothing mentioning a change of handicap, the presumption must be that the starting handicap is used until the match finishes.

You miss my point...

Duncan's response made it look like the phrase "Those handicaps are used for the duration of the match" was part of the wording of 6-2a.

Which made me feel a bit daft that I'd missed it when looking through the rules....and then I discovered that I didn't miss it because the wording is not part of the rule (or at least it isn't in the R&A rules explorer!!).
 
You miss my point...

Duncan's response made it look like the phrase "Those handicaps are used for the duration of the match" was part of the wording of 6-2a.

Which made me feel a bit daft that I'd missed it when looking through the rules....and then I discovered that I didn't miss it because the wording is not part of the rule (or at least it isn't in the R&A rules explorer!!).

I think you missed the subtlety of Duncan's post.
The quoted rule is in italics. His comment, following a blank line, is not ;)
 
You miss my point...

Duncan's response made it look like the phrase "Those handicaps are used for the duration of the match" was part of the wording of 6-2a.

Which made me feel a bit daft that I'd missed it when looking through the rules....and then I discovered that I didn't miss it because the wording is not part of the rule (or at least it isn't in the R&A rules explorer!!).

I apologise for not putting the specific rule element into a different font, or italics, and relying on the dots to indicate a continuation.

It wasn't my intention to be subtle - rules are hard enough.
 
I think you missed the subtlety of Duncan's post.
The quoted rule is in italics. His comment, following a blank line, is not ;)

FFS fella....you were very nearly too subtle for me there....I just caught myself before I pressed return on what was going to be my original response...its been a long day!!! :lol:
 
Top