handicap allowance????

silvacat66

Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
2
Visit site
I recently played in a pairs stableford comp at my club, my partner did not turn up so i ended up playing on my own. our golf secretary told me i was to play as a single player, my playing partners assumed to give me full allocation of shots as a single player should get for a stableford comp?

I happened to win the competition but the following day the golf secretary cut me a shot because he said i was only entitled to 3/4 allowance because it was a pairs comp?
i ended up 4th on a count back.
can anyone tell me the correct ruling on this or if indeed there is one

regards

Ian
 

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
25,671
Location
Watford
Visit site
I would have thought you would still be off 3/4, as that is the competition entry requirement. I am suprised you only lost one shot, unless you're off 4?
 

silvacat66

Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
2
Visit site
I am off 6 so 3/4 would be 5.Unfortunately we have a golf secretary who seems not to know the rules but there is not a lot members can do in this situation.I'ts one of those queries that would be difficult for anyone to come up with a correct ruling if one indeed exists? Any handicap Secretary's out there know????

Ian
 

SammmeBee

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
3,707
Location
Where the Queen Lives!
Visit site
You are playing 4-ball better ball with 3/4 handicaps - you play off 6 (3/4 of 6 is 5) so you get 5 shots - you partner would get similar - you have got a partner so it's still 4-ball better ball but you only get the choice of one score as opposed to 2......you must have played well but they made the right decision - sorry chap.....
 

DCB

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
7,732
Location
Midlothian
Visit site
Look at the bright side, at least he didn't DQ you for playing off an incorrect handicap allowance !

Although if the card was completed with the gross score for each hole and your actual handicap, then the maths bit (points) was the committees responsibility, so he couldn't really DQ you.

Hope you gave your mate pelters for not turning up though!
 
Top