GUR

Scott W

Assistant Pro
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
171
Location
Surrey
Visit site
We have lots of work going on at the 16th, par 3 where new bunkers and run offs are being built = lots of GUR

The area in front of the green where new bunkers and turf are bedding in has a sign that says "Compulsory GUR"...the rest to side and behind green is just marked as normal (white line and GUR)

My understanding is you "may" take relief from GUR should you choose, correct?
I assume "compulsory" means you must take relief?
Supplementary Q#1 - there is a marked drop zone next to compulsory GUR - do you have to use a DZ if one exists?
Supplementary Q#2 - if DZ is full of divots (need to wedge it on) is it just tough if your drop lands in a divot?

Thanks
 
If the GUR has been marked that relief MUST be taken, then yes you have to take relief.

Q#1 - You don't have to use the DZ. It just provides an additional relief option if NPR away from the compulsory GUR isn't very nice!
Q#2 - Yes, tough. It is why it is recommended that DZs are often moved about.

Saying that, it ultimately comes down to the exact wording of the LR.
 
Last edited:
If the GUR has been marked that relief MUST be taken, then yes you have to take relief.

Q#1 - You don't have to use the DZ. It just provides an additional relief option if NPR away from the compulsory GUR isn't very nice!
Q#2 - Yes, tough. It is why it is recommended that DZs are often moved about.

Saying that, it ultimately comes down to the exact wording of the LR.

Yes, I think it's a case of exactly this......it may for example say "a ball must be taken to the drop zone". If you are going to the drop zone then no problem, if you are doing anything else....check first or play two balls.
 
"Compulsory GUR"

Basically confusing. Is it a mandatory relief gur, or a gur that they were compelled to make?

Committees should stop trying to be cleverly terse, it's an art that takes practice. They should tell a 12 year old what they wan to say and let him/her draft the language. Be clear committees, not pretend you are the R&A.
 
Had this happen to me on Saturday, told we must use DZ, so I did and it landed in an old divot.

Never thought about it until after, but as we are using winter rules, preferred lies, could I have marked and moved the ball ?
 
Had this happen to me on Saturday, told we must use DZ, so I did and it landed in an old divot.

Never thought about it until after, but as we are using winter rules, preferred lies, could I have marked and moved the ball ?

Only if the DZ was in a closely mown area.
 
I asked pretty much the same question a couple of weeks ago. At the moment our course has some large areas of marked GUR due to extreme wetness. In some cases the marked drop zone can mean going 50 yards backwards, but in another case the marked DZ is closer to the hole than most of the GUR! So what do you do? Do the normal rules for relief from an Abnormal Ground Condition still apply, or are the DZ's mandatory? We have a Local Rule saying we must take relief from marked GUR and roped off areas, but this doesn't mention DZ's.
 
Last edited:
Del, your LR is deficient. It should read along the lines of either relief may be taken under Rule 25-1b or in the nearest Dropping Zone or relief must be taken by dropping a ball in the nearest Dropping Zone.

In the absence of anything said to make use of a DZ mandatory, I would take the default position that it is optional.
 
Del

It's not clear if all your GUR has a DZ. If that is the case your LR will have to specify that the DZ must or may be used if there is one associated with the GUR.

There are in fact a number of permutations.
DZ present
1) Relief is optional and if taken the DZ may (or must) be used.
2) Relief is compulsory and the DZ may (or must) be used.
DZ not present
3) Relief is optional.
4) Relief is compulsory.

It is recommended by the R&A that DZs are an additional option to any other relief that may be available in the situation. ie 'must' should not be used.
 
Top