GUR

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
989
Location
Wilton, Nr Salisbury
Visit site
Right then, not a happy bunny. Joined up today with two members, never played with them before and one of them said he would sign my card ( 3 rd card to get my h/c sorted, at moment it's 20I )

On a short par 3 I push my tee shot to the right and landed between some chopped down trees/shrubs, now it's GUR because its still being cleared.

The ball was sitting nice so I played it as it was, chipped on and lucky putt for par.

Walking to next green the chap said I would ave to DQ myself for not taking a drop and he couldn't sign my card if I didn't.

Now I'm sure you can play your ball in GUR if you want but didn't know the rule in full, so bang went my card.

So was I right ? I looked in the clubhouse, as to local rules but found nothing saying I couldn't do what I did.

Cheers,

Delboy
 
Unless there is a local rule prohibiting play from within an area of GUR, you are perfectly entitled to play the ball as it lies, without grounding your club.
 
Surley even if your ignored the rule, the penalty would still be just 2 shots .... or is there a more harsh penalty for ignoring local rules?
 
Unless there is a local rule prohibiting play from within an area of GUR, you are perfectly entitled to play the ball as it lies, without grounding your club.

There is nothing to prevent you grounding your club in GUR.

That prohibition only applies to bunkers and water hazards.
 
Thanks for the reply, so I was ok doing what I did, good to know and like I said I couldn't find anything at the club to say of local rule.

I think he said it was a DQ because I put down a 3, he was saying that was the wrong score as i should have taken a drop and I would therefore be signing for a wrong score.
 
Thanks for the reply, so I was ok doing what I did, good to know and like I said I couldn't find anything at the club to say of local rule.

I think he said it was a DQ because I put down a 3, he was saying that was the wrong score as i should have taken a drop and I would therefore be signing for a wrong score.
Well since he was walking to the next green at the time, then surely it could have been sorted before coming to that. What an idiot !

Keep an eye out for him and avoid at all costs in the future ;)
 
Never take the opinon of a playing partner when a rules query arises. Too many folk think they know the rules when they don't. Check when you get back to the clubhouse. Don't take the word of your pro either as they have been known to be wrong too.
 
I played for 30yrs believing I had to take relief from GUR - maybe that was the local rule in the previous clubs I've been a member of. Only discovered recently that taking relief from GUR was optional unless specified by a local rule. So were you to have asked me - long standing golfer who knows rules pretty well (or so he thought) - about this and you'd have got the wrong ruling from me. And as it happens since I've been on here I've discovered a fair few other rulings I would have got wrong.
 
Local Rules prohibiting play from GUR are quite common (we have one) but it will be printed on the card so should be no issue clarifying this on the course.

However even if there was such a local rule, I'm sure it would just be a 2 shot penalty for breach of local rule or for playing from a wrong place under Rule 20-7. You can't be DQ'd for signing for a wrong score if you haven't signed your card!

It just needed to be checked with the secretary or pro when you finished and if there is a local rule prohibiting play from GUR the score can be adjusted before you sign.

Also if it was just a card for a handicap I think you could just have N/R'd that hole anyway and still handed the card it. It would just have counted double bogey. What did he think you were being DQ'd from?

Although the Rules can be complicated, they aren't there to "catch you out" they are just there to ensure the game is played fairly and properly. Even if you break a rule on the course, provided it isn't a serious breach, there is always a solution which will enable you to return a score. The trouble is some people who think they know the Rules often just bamboozle themselves and everyone else.

Hopefully some of the proper Rules experts can advise on the above.

As said above, I'd avoid him in future, or else make sure you have the Rules book or App and watch him like a hawk. ;)

:rolleyes:
 
Local Rules prohibiting play from GUR are quite common (we have one) but it will be printed on the card so should be no issue clarifying this on the course.

However even if there was such a local rule, I'm sure it would just be a 2 shot penalty for breach of local rule or for playing from a wrong place under Rule 20-7. You can't be DQ'd for signing for a wrong score if you haven't signed your card!

It just needed to be checked with the secretary or pro when you finished and if there is a local rule prohibiting play from GUR the score can be adjusted before you sign.

Also if it was just a card for a handicap I think you could just have N/R'd that hole anyway and still handed the card it. It would just have counted double bogey. What did he think you were being DQ'd from?

Although the Rules can be complicated, they aren't there to "catch you out" they are just there to ensure the game is played fairly and properly. Even if you break a rule on the course, provided it isn't a serious breach, there is always a solution which will enable you to return a score. The trouble is some people who think they know the Rules often just bamboozle themselves and everyone else.

Hopefully some of the proper Rules experts can advise on the above.

As said above, I'd avoid him in future, or else make sure you have the Rules book or App and watch him like a hawk. ;)

:rolleyes:

local rules are all printed on the card - does your course print 'winter rules in play' on their cards when they are? They may be posted on a notice board.

other than that I would agree your other points - basically it's a 2 shot penalty (assuming no serious breach issues over the weong place) and you can 'blob' a hole on a card for handicap.
 
Unless there is a local rule prohibiting play from within an area of GUR, you are perfectly entitled to play the ball as it lies, without grounding your club.

There is nothing to prevent you grounding your club in GUR.

That prohibition only applies to bunkers and water hazards.

I plead guilty with Shiraz being a mitigating factor (again).
 
Top