Grounding club in a hazard.. sort of.

  • Thread starter Thread starter guest100718
  • Start date Start date
G

guest100718

Guest
Is it OK to deliberately use a club to assist with climbing down the bank of a hazard? Like you would use a hiking pole?
 
3.5 Player Uses Cane or Club to Enter or Leave Hazard When Ball Lies in Hazard

Q.A player, to prevent falling, uses a cane or club to enter or leave a hazard when his ball lies in the hazard. Is the player in breach of Rule 13-4?

A.No, provided nothing is done which constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball – see Exception 1 to Rule 13-4.
 
Is it OK to deliberately use a club to assist with climbing down the bank of a hazard? Like you would use a hiking pole?

BT has answered it, but just to add I'll turn the club around sometimes to use as an 'aid' on steep bunker entrances/exits, works well and no issues of anyone thinking it could be wrong.
 
Cheers
I thought it would be OK, I just wondered about it after I had scaled down a steep bank with the aid of a club when I last played.
 
Top