Gripping down the shaft...

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Visit site
Still being fairly new to golf this is a shot I've never really learnt as such but see a number of players using it. I find the half/three quarter/not quite a full wedge distances really tricky and go through spells when I hit them really nicely but then the occasional shhhhhhhhk or thin and my confidence and feel goes.

Recently I've tried gripping down on my wedge and gap wedge and find it so much easier to play the shots with a full swing and the distance is reduced depending on how far down I grip. This is still new to me so I'm wondering if there are say 3 positions on the grip - full, half way and then right at the bottom of the grip so only just on the grip rather than shaft? I'm still learning the distances when gripping down so is there a "norm" ie. halfway loses 15yds approximately? I'm trying to practice as much as possible to get a feel for the shot and yardage but any advice would be much appreciated.

I tend not to use my sand wedge much from the grass but assume the same could be applied there too? Tight pin over a bunker or similar?

Cheers, Amanda

dandpl

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi Amanda

You just really need to put in the practice as with all of golf. Find your normal distance then hit ten balls to a green with your lower grip positions and measure the average distance of carry not the logest or shortest the Average!
Another way to play these shots is to use a clock face as a guide Full swing 12 o clock and a half swing 9 o clock with a 1/4 swing swing back to 7.30.
These are the toughest shots to play.....have a lesson or two and practice, the practice more.

Good luck

dandpl

palindromicbob

Tour Winner
Visit site