Greensome rules query.

shanker

Q-School Graduate
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
884
Location
Spain
Visit site
What happens if both players in a greensome hit it OOB?
1 Do they both play again and then choose which ball to play?
2 Or do they have to select one of the OOB balls and the other player hits again from the tee?
This happened last weekend here and even the local referee wasn't sure.
 
Not sure either but would suppose that they would play off in order till one shot on play area and carry on from there.
 
Now that is a good one- It could easily be either. What one did you go with whilst playing? I couldn't find anything on the decisions section of the R & A website either. At a guess I would say it is the second one.
 
Both players are OOB therefore both players can hit again....

You could if you wanted (for some strange reason) have player A OOB but player B in play - player A could play 3 from the tee and player B then play 4 (as opposed to A playing 2)...
 
As a team you will be playing three off the tee. You need to select one of the first tee shots as the one that is in play, and take it from there. So in reality you select the one who feels least confident about reloading's tee shot, and the other guys hits three off the tee and you are back in play. If he lashes it OOB again, you alternate from there.

That would be my take!
 
Shanker,
Read this one with interest, but not with total certainty as to the correct procedure. My initial instinct would be that, just as on a par-3 where both had hit it to a foot, you would still have to make a choice between the two even though both were identical.
But, having checked with my contacts at the R&A, the answer is that because Greensomes is not a format recognised or governed by the Rules of Golf, the actual procedures in such an event would be entirely at the discretion of the committee (who in most instances probably won't have considered such a scenario, and therefore not have ruled on it in advance!)
Not entirely sure if that helps much, but that apparently is the reality of the situation,
Jezz
 
so you're down to golf's basic rule - do what is fair, and since in any case your team is three off the tee what does it matter who plays the shot? For pace of play hopefully only one of you but I suppose if you're not happy with the result you could insist on having your second shot.
 
Top