Golf Random Irritations

Bdill93

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
1,140
Is this a joke? When you move your marker you use your putter head, in line with a static object (i.e. a tree or something in your eyeline) to measure it. So moving the ball you would just use the same process for the same result. 🤷🏻‍♂️
Then I toe it and hit your ball for a 2 shot penalty :ROFLMAO:

Brilliantly - I actually use a poker chip too btw :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: It does have a smaller marker that clips off it though for when really needed!
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
15,615
Location
Watford
Then I toe it and hit your ball for a 2 shot penalty :ROFLMAO:

Brilliantly - I actually use a poker chip too btw :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: It does have a smaller marker that clips off it though for when really needed!
Obviously we're talking in hypotheticals here, so if you got rid of markers you'd get rid of that penalty ruling which is daft anyway.
 

sunshine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
2,860
Then I toe it and hit your ball for a 2 shot penalty :ROFLMAO:

Brilliantly - I actually use a poker chip too btw :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: It does have a smaller marker that clips off it though for when really needed!
But if he used another ball as a marker it wouldn't be a penalty. I think I'll do that next time I play with someone who uses a poker chip. I'm playing a Titliest 2 but using a Tiltleist 4 as my ball marker :ROFLMAO:

Also, you're saying you carry 2 ball markers: a useful one that serves a purpose (doesn't get in the way), so then why carry a useless one as well? Just to annoy people? Good match play tactic :ROFLMAO:
 

Bdill93

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
1,140
But if he used another ball as a marker it wouldn't be a penalty. I think I'll do that next time I play with someone who uses a poker chip. I'm playing a Titliest 2 but using a Tiltleist 4 as my ball marker :ROFLMAO:

Also, you're saying you carry 2 ball markers: a useful one that serves a purpose (doesn't get in the way), so then why carry a useless one as well? Just to annoy people? Good match play tactic :ROFLMAO:
Nah theyre attached :ROFLMAO: The middle of the poker chip pops off to be an unintrusive marker.

You can often need to just quickly mark, clean ball and replace, much easier with a chip than a marker the size of a 5p and easier to locate in my pocket!
 

sunshine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
2,860
Sounds a lot of faff. I think if I played golf with Paige Spiranac I would insist on her using a poker chip ball marker, so she would have to keep bending over to repeatedly move her marker on every green.
 

Liverpoolphil

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
37,584
Location
Leighton Buzzard
Inane comebacks like these.

I wasn't judging the character of the player, just the nature of their choice.
You weren’t

They are rather ‘look at me’ are they not. That said…my club sells them in the shop…so there is obviously sufficient market for them…though often I am asked when one is used whether or not I am ok with it as it is rather large. A little baffling why those who use actually bother as most who use them seem to know they can be distracting or obstructive for others. Anyway. A pretty minor golfing irritation indeed.
That was
 

toyboy54

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
1,491
Location
outskirts...glasgow&paisley
Rain, rain and more bleedin' rain!!:mad:
Well that's put paid to getting fellow forumner up to my place today, thankfully been re-scheduled for Thurs.,,when forecast seems o.k.:cautious:+ fingers x'd??
Only happens when course is looking the best its been all year-Oh well, fingers crossed ( pity the greens have just been cored:cry:
Why can't it rain for a couple of hours at night and be lovely during the day????
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
26,012
Is this a joke? When you move your marker you use your putter head, in line with a static object (i.e. a tree or something in your eyeline) to measure it. So moving the ball you would just use the same process for the same result. 🤷🏻‍♂️
Except I’d then ask you to mark the position of your ball and lift it 👍
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
26,012
Yesterday played with a fella who got two shots on ten holes as there was no handicap limit in the comp we were in. He was in my team so that was ok 😍🤪. Perhaps more highlights that ‘no handicap limit’ can give rise to resentments in others in the field…yes much of the time the player needs the shots - but if he gets it right he can rack up a shedload of points - as my buddy did yesterday when scoring 45 s/Ford points and winning the individual comp.
 

Imurg

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
30,889
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Yesterday played with a fella who got two shots on ten holes as there was no handicap limit in the comp we were in. He was in my team so that was ok 😍🤪. Perhaps more highlights that ‘no handicap limit’ can give rise to resentments in others in the field…yes much of the time the player needs the shots - but if he gets it right he can rack up a shedload of points - as my buddy did yesterday when scoring 45 s/Ford points and winning the individual comp.
Sounds like Fragger.....except for the 45 point bit....:LOL:
There's a 400 yard hole on our course that he gets 2 shots on and I get none.
The other week I had to give him a 360 yard head start as his 2 shots got him to 40 yards short of the green.....:eek:
 

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
22,994
Location
Kent
Is this a joke? When you move your marker you use your putter head, in line with a static object (i.e. a tree or something in your eyeline) to measure it. So moving the ball you would just use the same process for the same result. 🤷🏻‍♂️
It might just be that a player wants to pick his ball up to wipe some mud off it so something need to mark where it is otherwise penalty shots will apply.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
26,012
In a nett comp qualifier for a national comp - scratch lad at my place shoots a gross 67 (5 under) including four birdies and a hole in one in the final five holes - to come second 🙄. He shrugged…it’s a nett comp…he won the gross…😊
 
Last edited:

NearHull

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
559
Yet another 4BB Open today played at 100% allowance. Winning score (as we left) 53 points, 9 and 24 handicaps, followed by 3 pairs of 50 points. I queried the Professional why they were not complying with the mandatory allowances, ( he was registering and filling out the cards ) - he said the Seniors ran one competition in June at 100% and therefore felt that they should keep to it.

Can anyone make any sense of this answer? Low handicap players - and I am not a low handicap - are put at a disadvantage by the club breaking the rules. The club is Wetherby. I will be contacting the Yorkshire Golf Union (again). This is the third instance that I am aware of this year of Opens not following the mandatory allowances.
 
Top