Frost = Temporary Greens?

Swingalot

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
So question, does playing on frosted greens with damage the grass or does it depend on the level of frost and/or the type of grass/course sub-layer?

Played today with 120 golfers on a big meet and it was ruined by the decision to play on temp greens. The ground was frosty when we started, but within 30 minutes all the greens were thawed out as the sun was out and we played a full round looking at and walking around some fabulous looking greens BUT not actually playing on them!!!

When I started playing 20 years ago my club used to play off temps in the frost, but then I believe greenkeepers started to think this was not needed and we switched to full greens and never had an issue. Every club I have played at since when the frost has been out have taken the same stance, so was this club just being a bit behind the times or did they have a point?

Canary_Yellow

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I gather the risk is damaging the grass as the ground thaws, rather than when it is frozen.

However, it seems to be a head greenkeeper by head greenkeeper thing. Some either take the view that it doesn't impact the grass, or otherwise think that any impact is minimal so better to have people out enjoying the course in frosty conditions than have alreay very good greens an imperceptible amount better in the summer months for having them closed in winter.

There's a place near me that closes completely until frost clears. They never put temp tees or greens in play though and it's a great place to play in winter (unless frosty, of course!)

D

Deleted member 15344

Guess it will depend on the greenkeeper - we stay on our greens when it’s frosty and only coming off if there has been at least 4 days consecutive hard frost - hasn’t done any damage to our greens playing on frost

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site