Etiquette or Rule?

Big_G

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
285
Visit site
Only been playing a few years, and last year was asked to join one of our clubs teams, so I'm still in-experienced at competitive golf.

When playing a match at the weekend, my PP and one of the opposition pair had almost identical putts. Whilst my PP was attempting his putt the opposition player stood directly behind him throughout the whole of the putt clearly to gain a read on the line of his upcoming putt.

I had always assumed (rightly or wrongly) that this was not allowed, or at best was bad etiquette.

Can anyone help clear this up for me please, it didn't affect the result of the match, but would like to know for future reference?
 
Only been playing a few years, and last year was asked to join one of our clubs teams, so I'm still in-experienced at competitive golf.

When playing a match at the weekend, my PP and one of the opposition pair had almost identical putts. Whilst my PP was attempting his putt the opposition player stood directly behind him throughout the whole of the putt clearly to gain a read on the line of his upcoming putt.

I had always assumed (rightly or wrongly) that this was not allowed, or at best was bad etiquette.

Can anyone help clear this up for me please, it didn't affect the result of the match, but would like to know for future reference?

Correct - you or your PP should have asked him to move. And you need not have any qualms in doing so - no rule - but what he was doing is simply not done.
 
There's nothing in the rules to prevent a FC (or opposition) from standing behind the putt, but there is a rule preventing someone on your team doing so.

Having said that, if your partner wanted him to move just ask him nicely, and he should step away. Nothing at all from stopping anyone getting behind the putt after it's been struck though, although you shouldn't start moving whilst the player is making his stroke.

The rule mentions the line of the putt and also says that this line doesn't extend past the hole, so you can stand on the other side of the hole while someone on your team is putting.
 
There's nothing in the rules to prevent a FC (or opposition) from standing behind the putt, but there is a rule preventing someone on your team doing so.

Having said that, if your partner wanted him to move just ask him nicely, and he should step away. Nothing at all from stopping anyone getting behind the putt after it's been struck though, although you shouldn't start moving whilst the player is making his stroke.

The rule mentions the line of the putt and also says that this line doesn't extend past the hole, so you can stand on the other side of the hole while someone on your team is putting.

Better and fuller answer. That said if I was about to putt and an opponent was standing looking down my line - especially if he had a similar putt to come - and he didn't move when I asked him to - I would walk away from my putt and stand waiting.
 
Yep, ask him politely to move .....it's etiquette rather than a rule.

The etiquette section actually says...... "Players should not stand close to or directly behind the ball, or directly behind the hole, when a player is about to play".
I guess this is a "should", rather than a "must", to avoid situations where players do this inadvertently, or where it may be advantageous to have someone stood behind (hitting into the sun etc). End of the day, if it bothers you, or you think they may be gaining an unfair advantage then you just have to ask them to move. If they refuse to move, or blatantly do this repeatedly then I'd say they should be disqualified for serious breach of etiquette under 33-7.
 
This is another (inadvertently) often broken rule, especially in a scramble you'll always see the rest of the team standing behind the putt to see the line.

I've given up telling people (unless they ask), just make sure my team doesn't do it.
 
Better and fuller answer. That said if I was about to putt and an opponent was standing looking down my line - especially if he had a similar putt to come - and he didn't move when I asked him to - I would walk away from my putt and stand waiting.

As the FC is not breaking a rule but you possibly are (Rule 6-7), you could lose the hole.
 
As the FC is not breaking a rule but you possibly are (Rule 6-7), you could lose the hole.

From the R&A etiquette section.

Players should not stand close to or directly behind the ball, or directly behind the hole, when a player is about to play.
 
As the FC is not breaking a rule but you possibly are (Rule 6-7), you could lose the hole.

Without reading 6-7 - undue delay I'm guessing?

Indeed. :)

So if he doesn't move I'd go back to my putt and ask again. And step away again if necessary perhaps saying 'I'm not going to putt until you move - and I'm not unduly delaying play as I'm willing to get on with it - but you are preventing me from doing so' But that's never going to have to be said. I hope.
 
Last edited:
From the R&A etiquette section.

Players should not stand close to or directly behind the ball, or directly behind the hole, when a player is about to play.

Yes I know it's in there, which would make it a breach of etiquette and not a breach of the rules. Of course, if the committee consider it to be a serious breach of etiquette the offending player could be DQ'd under 33-7.
 
This is another (inadvertently) often broken rule, especially in a scramble you'll always see the rest of the team standing behind the putt to see the line.

I've given up telling people (unless they ask), just make sure my team doesn't do it.

A scramble is already not playing to the rules of golf....
 
Which other normal rules are you allowed to break, other than the obvious one about not necessarily playing from where it finished?

Not a recognised format granted, but still played to the rules of golf as far as I know.

The very first one, play it as it lies! And however this is adjusted by the club, some allow placing, some say drop etc etc.

I genuinly would be interested, do they even fall under the definition of being a team, or not, under the RoG. rules gurus?
 
Only been playing a few years, and last year was asked to join one of our clubs teams, so I'm still in-experienced at competitive golf.

When playing a match at the weekend, my PP and one of the opposition pair had almost identical putts. Whilst my PP was attempting his putt the opposition player stood directly behind him throughout the whole of the putt clearly to gain a read on the line of his upcoming putt.

I had always assumed (rightly or wrongly) that this was not allowed, or at best was bad etiquette.

Can anyone help clear this up for me please, it didn't affect the result of the match, but would like to know for future reference?

As people have said here, its just not done.
I would have had to say something politely to them, and for what ever reason they didnt believe me well there's always afterwards it can be sorted out, I think someone mentioned rule 33-7 breach of etiquette or something
 
Top