Embrace the bad?

Scozzy

Medal Winner
Visit site
So....I'd say I'm a pretty strong and straight iron player and decent putter.Like many of us I am also a terrifying driver of the ball.Over the years of lessons and diligent practice no one person alive knows where the next drive will go and as a result my hcap has hovered around 11 for quite a while now, single figures and my driver are in league with the devil... Anyhoo went to the range with a pal last week,got fed up trying to hit "good" drives and instead set up and purposely tried to hit massive hooks and cuts to a target...a thing of beauty! Same again yesterday, lovely 25 yd "draws" & fades, cough! cough! back into target area. so I'm thinking of going full bubba and giving up trying to keep driver straight of the tee and setting up for the thrill of actually aiming nowhere near my target...can't hurt can it? Anyone else aiming away for better results? It's as many drives to a target I've hit in a decade.........🤔

Maninblack4612

Tour Winner
www.camera-angles.co.uk
Is your swing very steep? Jim Hardy says that a lot of steep swingers ("Two Plane" in his parlance") pull from outside with the hands on the downswing instead of the more common "inside throw". This leads to the clubface opening & closing during the swing a lot, as opposed to remaining more square to the swingpath in a flatter swing. Because of this, he says, the likes of Mickleson &, especially, Bubba find it really hard to hit a straight ball & feel much more comfortable working the ball from left to right or vice versa. So perhaps you're working on the right lines. Hardy's highly technical book, "The Release" explains it & it makes a lot of sense.

Scozzy

Medal Winner
Visit site