Dropped club in bunker

anotherdouble

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
3,201
Visit site
Hi folks as title says, today I dropped my club in the bunker my ball was in. I was walking around the bunker to collect the rake. As I bent down I lost my balance. I was approx 5 yards away from my ball and I was standing outside of the bunker. I treated this as me being a right knob with a 1 shot penalty. Was I correct
 
Hi folks as title says, today I dropped my club in the bunker my ball was in. I was walking around the bunker to collect the rake. As I bent down I lost my balance. I was approx 5 yards away from my ball and I was standing outside of the bunker. I treated this as me being a right knob with a 1 shot penalty. Was I correct
Did your club hit the ball?
 
No you did yourself out of a shot providing your club didn't touch the ball. Grounding the club in a bunker as the result of a stumble isn't a penalty.
 
Because my ball was in the same bunker and I wondered had I albeit by dropping my club, grounded my club. As I was ignorant to the outcome never having done this before I took the safest option. Not a problem for me. You live and learn.
 
I gave myslef a 2 shot pen for hitting my bag with my ball today when I knew it was only 1. PP was sure it was 2. Played carp anyway so not that big a deal
 
Because my ball was in the same bunker and I wondered had I albeit by dropping my club, grounded my club. As I was ignorant to the outcome never having done this before I took the safest option. Not a problem for me. You live and learn.

Dropping your club is the equivalent of placing it.

[h=2]13-4/0.5[/h] [h=4]Meaning of "Test the Condition of the Hazard" in Rule 13-4a[/h]Q.What is meant by "test the condition of the hazard" in Rule 13-4a?

A.The term covers all actions by which the player could gain more informa*tion about the hazard than could be gained from taking his stance for the stroke to be made, bearing in mind that a certain amount of digging in with the feet in the sand or soil is permitted when taking the stance for a stroke.

Examples of actions that would not constitute testing the condition of the hazard include the following:


  • placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard;
[h=2]13-4/21[/h] [h=4]Rake Thrown into Bunker Before Stroke[/h]Q.A player's ball lies in a bunker. He casually throws a rake into the bunker for use after his stroke. The rake does not move his ball or improve the lie of the ball. Does the player incur a penalty?

A.No. Placing a rake in a bunker is permissible. In this case, throwing the rake into the bunker was the equivalent of placing it.


 
Spring tankard mate. Was out of it after yesterday. So that penalty meant nothing. I called it on myself. It was tough today with the wind
 
Top