driving advice noob needs help!

big_eck

Assistant Pro
Visit site
hi guys i need as much info as i can, i have just taken up golf 2 weeks ago so, the game has came kinda natural to me when i started playing a bought a cheap set of dunlop clubs and 2 drivers i seen in a charity shop, the driver i stuck with was a nickent square with a reg flex shaft, every time i hit the drive it shot off to the right so i compensated and aimed for the left and was getting good distance (180 - 220ft) i know it isnt massive but im still learning, my friend told me if i want to drive further get a stiffer shaft because my swing is really fast so i went to my local pro shop and got a ping g10 driver with a stiffer shaft, took it to the range and it added a bit of distance and was feeling good, i also bought a second hand set of snake eye viper tours and a new putter and bag just to et rid of the cheap set i started with, so on a high feeling like tiger i went for a 9 hole game and my driving has died, i cant hit the damn ball most of the time and when i do the right slice or hook dont know what one it is lol is way out of control no amount of aiming left can fix it, on the upside the new irons have made a huge difference but i still cant put! any advice?

G1BB0

Money List Winner
Visit site
G10 is an excellent and forgiving driver. Personally I would say maybe have a lesson with a pro but failing that try and slow to a 60% speed swing with the driver and see how much difference it maybe makes. Could also try a shorter backswing aswell. Too many possibilities for causes as I have and occasionally do still suffer with the dreaded slice :(

big_eck

Assistant Pro
Visit site