Draw vs loft

Matt221171

Visit site
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so firstly hello to all members. I have been playing regular for 3 years now and have got my handicap to 18 (can hit 42/43 points on short course) so distance has always been a problem.
After reading Sean Foley's law of a draw I'm now very confused. I have an SLDR which you are meant to loft up,but according to taylormade stats you need to loft down to open the face, so fianally to my question:
Is it better to loft up and get a better launch angle, but only hit straight (my normal shot) or to loft down and get an open face to draw (with a in to out path). Which would go further?
All replies would be much appreciated, cheers, Matt.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so firstly hello to all members. I have been playing regular for 3 years now and have got my handicap to 18 (can hit 42/43 points on short course) so distance has always been a problem.
After reading Sean Foley's law of a draw I'm now very confused. I have an SLDR which you are meant to loft up,but according to taylormade stats you need to loft down to open the face, so fianally to my question:
Is it better to loft up and get a better launch angle, but only hit straight (my normal shot) or to loft down and get an open face to draw (with a in to out path). Which would go further?
All replies would be much appreciated, cheers, Matt.

welcome, stick around, hope you get used to folks

first off the sldr - is despite what some may say has been designed to have the majority of index players (handicap) loft up - as a generality the slower the swing speed the more loft you would need
because of where the CG of this particular driver model has been placed (that's a truism of physics - not as many misguidedly believe starting out as a marketing ploy)