DQ or not DQ?

sawtooth

Tour Winner
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
5,253
Location
Berkshire
Visit site
1. Player A hands card in with handicap box empty. Strokes received box empty.
2. Player B hands card in with handicap box empty, Strokes received box shows correct value.
3. Player C hands card in with 16.7 (exact handicap) in handicap box, strokes received box has 17. (correct he is playing of 17).


1. DQ Rule 6-6b Missing handicap (clear cut).
2. DQ Rule 6-6b Missing handicap even though strokes received box is populated.
3. Not DQ , exact handicap is OK, doesn't have to be playing handicap ie rounded up or down. What if he didn't put anything in strokes received box, would that make a difference? ie if you just put 16.9 in handicap box. Still OK?

Is that all correct?
 
1. Player A hands card in with handicap box empty. Strokes received box empty.
2. Player B hands card in with handicap box empty, Strokes received box shows correct value.
3. Player C hands card in with 16.7 (exact handicap) in handicap box, strokes received box has 17. (correct he is playing of 17).


1. DQ Rule 6-6b Missing handicap (clear cut).
2. DQ Rule 6-6b Missing handicap even though strokes received box is populated.
3. Not DQ , exact handicap is OK, doesn't have to be playing handicap ie rounded up or down. What if he didn't put anything in strokes received box, would that make a difference? ie if you just put 16.9 in handicap box. Still OK?

Is that all correct?


I believe that B is not dq as their playing handicap is sufficient, otherwise agree.
 
Both need to be filled in I believe. Our society chairman used to work on the ladies tour and checked every single card. He always asked us to put in both to ensure we weren't DQ'd. Mostly the case when three quarter handicaps etc come into play.
 
I didn't think completing "strokes received" was a requirement. If you play a 3/4 handicap comp for example , as long as you put your handicap down correctly you don't need to show strokes received. That's the handicap committee's responsibility I believe.
 
Why?

Playing handicap is not Exact Handicap nor is it Strokes Received
The Committee is responsible for determining the net score or stableford points. They cannot do that from anything other than the Playing Handicap.
If some players enter Strokes Received rather than Playing Handicap the Committee wouldn't know what was going on.


Anywhere on the card means it doesn't need to be in a particular box or any box at all (providing it is recognisable as a handicap of course).
 
Last edited:
Why?

Playing handicap is not Exact Handicap nor is it Strokes Received
The Committee is responsible for determining the net score or stableford points. They cannot do that from anything other than the Playing Handicap.
If some players enter Strokes Received rather than Playing Handicap the Committee wouldn't know what was going on.


Anywhere on the card means it doesn't need to be in a particular box or any box at all (providing it is recognisable as a handicap of course).

Yes I agree that the handicap can be put anywhere on the card but does it have to be marked properly if not in the handicap box? ie "hcp 10" On one of the examples there is a number in the strokes received box, are we to assume that he meant this to read as handicap? As it stands it was a full handicap comp so the strokes received matches his playing handicap anyway.
 
Anywhere on the card means it doesn't need to be in a particular box or any box at all (providing it is recognisable as a handicap of course).

Yes, this is an important point to note. It's common for players to put their handicap in the "additions section" at the bottom of the card eg 79-12-67 but omit it from the handicap box next to their name at the top. This is fine and not a DQ though many people seem to think it is.
 
Yes, this is an important point to note. It's common for players to put their handicap in the "additions section" at the bottom of the card eg 79-12-67 but omit it from the handicap box next to their name at the top. This is fine and not a DQ though many people seem to think it is.

Thanks Fyldewhite and Rulesfan, that is nice and clear now.
 
Playing handicap and signature of player and marker is all that is required. Leaving off exact handicap (9.9 etc) is not a DQ. If you have a computerised set up at your club however when you enter your score make sure the two match or you can effectively sign for an incorrect score. :(
 
The only requirement is 'Playing Handicap' anywhere on the card.

There is one situation that makes me think.

The player neglects to enter his handicap on the card. His marker tots up the score, subtracts the handicap (he knows the player and knows his handicap) and produces the nett score. The player sees the nett score which he agrees with and signs the card (and, as he should, he checks each individual gross score).

The player's handicap appears somewhere on the card but it was not placed there by the player. DQ?
 
Some clubs provide players in medals with cards that have the players name, handicap, date and name of comp on them already.

The player presumably does not have to add a further handicap in their own writing? If so, some of our comps would see mass DQs.
 
There is one situation that makes me think.

The player neglects to enter his handicap on the card. His marker tots up the score, subtracts the handicap (he knows the player and knows his handicap) and produces the nett score. The player sees the nett score which he agrees with and signs the card (and, as he should, he checks each individual gross score).

The player's handicap appears somewhere on the card but it was not placed there by the player. DQ?
No not DQ? It doesn't have to be the player that wrote the handicap on the card. As long as the correct handicap is somewhere on the card then its not a DQ. I have played in way to many comps this year, some have had handicap on card some haven't.
 
Rule 6-2b "the competitor must ensure that his handicap is recorded on his score card."

Nothing about the player having to enter it himself.
 
No not DQ? It doesn't have to be the player that wrote the handicap on the card. As long as the correct handicap is somewhere on the card then its not a DQ. I have played in way to many comps this year, some have had handicap on card some haven't.

Rule 6-2b "the competitor must ensure that his handicap is recorded on his score card."

Nothing about the player having to enter it himself.

If, however, the same scenario happened in a stableford competition, there would be a DQ as the handicap would not be entered by the marker - it's a funny old game.
 
If you have a computerised set up at your club however when you enter your score make sure the two match or you can effectively sign for an incorrect score. :(

you will have to explain that a little more Mike.......you (the player) are only responsible for the card; what get's put in the computer, or is in the computer system, is not relevant in this context.
 
Top