Done the right thing?

Swingalot

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
So, started playing golf around 6/7 years ago and have been pretty self taught getting down from high 20s to a best case 12, with only the odd lesson when real problems have arisen.
Stayed at 12/13 for a few years and starting to creep up and noticed that my bad shots vary from a sharp right, to a pull hook, so I have gone to a well known top 100 golf coach for a course of lessons. He has made a few changes and told me to come back in 2 weeks and I have committed to him that I will practise what he has told me for 3/4 sessions per week. The changes are pretty dramatic, for instance I used to have a flat/inside takeaway and now I'm working on getting far more on plane and vertical, but this is having some instant negative effects. I would say 80% of my hits are hozel rockets. At the lesson it was 95% so some slight improvement, but still I have gone from someone who could normally get around and shoot a score to someone who has just had to pull out of this weeks medal and also a work golf day next week as I'm completely unable to hit a golf ball.
Have I done the right thing? Has anyone else had to go through this pain before?
Just got back from the range and it was pretty embarrassing standing in a bay where I used to hit my fair share of sweetly struck shots to a jibbering fool who looked like his first day with a club.:p

Khamelion

Tour Winner
Visit site
I played golf in my younger days and I grooved in some really bad habits, when I started playing again a couple of years ago my game was rubbish 13months ago I started having lessons and like yourself I went from hitting the ball reasonably well to hitting a lot of shockers.

This is all part of the learning process when getting lessons, getting rid of your old bad habits and trying to groove in new good habits, will mean 1 step forwards and 2 steps back, or at least that is what it will feel like.