bladeplayer
Money List Winner
Played foursomes last night at an away course , we played a dog leg L>R hole , partners t shot ended up millimeters from the 150 marker stake , normally a simple enough remove the stake play your shot decision ..
correct ?
Now 2 questions please
(1) This square shaped stake obviously had been removed a few times and had been rocked forward and back to do so, so the top of the hole was much wider than it should be .. the ball was not touching the stake so it could be removed but it was flush with the hole meaning the leading edge of your iron would be hitting into the hole , we were 99% you are not allowed relief from the hole , just the stake , so bad luck ..
(2) Hypothetical question for the 2nd one , if you gently lifted out the stake and at some stage the ball rolled back into the hole whats the ruling ?
replace ball with one shot penalty and your still in the same grief or play as it lies meaning you have to take unplayable but are in a better position
We all agreed it was hardly ever likely to happen again but were curious as to the rulings
Thanks in advance
correct ?
Now 2 questions please
(1) This square shaped stake obviously had been removed a few times and had been rocked forward and back to do so, so the top of the hole was much wider than it should be .. the ball was not touching the stake so it could be removed but it was flush with the hole meaning the leading edge of your iron would be hitting into the hole , we were 99% you are not allowed relief from the hole , just the stake , so bad luck ..
(2) Hypothetical question for the 2nd one , if you gently lifted out the stake and at some stage the ball rolled back into the hole whats the ruling ?
replace ball with one shot penalty and your still in the same grief or play as it lies meaning you have to take unplayable but are in a better position
We all agreed it was hardly ever likely to happen again but were curious as to the rulings
Thanks in advance