disqualification in stableford.

Leo

Newbie
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
4
Visit site
Hi,
In a stableford points game, the card signed for the correct points scored on each hole.
However a incorrect strokes taken on a hole was entered.
i.e. a 4 for 3 was entered as a 3 fo3.

Is it proper procedure to disqualify the card, even though the correct points were recorded
at the hole.
 
Hi,
In a stableford points game, the card signed for the correct points scored on each hole.
However a incorrect strokes taken on a hole was entered.
i.e. a 4 for 3 was entered as a 3 fo3.

Is it proper procedure to disqualify the card, even though the correct points were recorded
at the hole.
Yes,
you sign for the gross score on the hole not the points.

welcome along by the way.
 
Without doubt correct decision as already said the key score on the card is gross a check will be done on the points to ensure they are calculated correctly.
 
[h=2][/h][h=3]33-5. Score Card[/h]In stroke play, the Committee must provide each competitor with a score card containing the date and the competitor’s name or, in foursome or four-ballstroke play, the competitors’ names.
In stroke play, the Committee is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card.
In four-ball stroke play, the Committee is responsible for recording the better-ball score for each hole and in the process applying the handicaps recorded on the score card, and adding the better-ball scores.
In bogey, par and Stableford competitions, the Committee is responsible for applying the handicap recorded on the score card and determining the result of each hole and the overall result or points total.

[h=2]33-1/7[/h][h=4]Making Competitors Responsible for Adding Scores[/h]Q.May the Committee make it a condition of a competition that competitors are responsible for the addition of scores?
A.No. Such a condition would modify Rule 33-5.
 
Hi,
However a incorrect strokes taken on a hole was entered.
i.e. a 4 for 3 was entered as a 3 fo3.
.

This is ambiguous, do you mean that you signed for a gross 4 when in fact your correct score was a gross 3? If so that is tough luck but not a DQ. If you meant that you actually scored a 4 but you signed for a 3 then that is a DQ.

"The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on the score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands."
 
Despite being a stableford, it is the gross score that counts and so a wrong score has been signed for. DQ is correct
Actually, if you sign for a higher score than you actually took on a hole, that score stands. If you sign for a lower score, then it's a DQ. I lost a Stableford comp by one point a while back when I made a 4 for 3 points on the 18th hole, but my marker wrote it on my card as 5 for 3 points. Because the number of points added up correctly I didn't spot the error. The comp scorer later amended my score on that hole to 5 for 2 points. Ever since then I have checked my gross scores for each hole very carefully before I sign my score card. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
However a incorrect strokes taken on a hole was entered.
i.e. a 4 for 3 was entered as a 3 fo3.
.



It is spot on.

A 4 was (actually) entered (instead of being entered) as a 3.
I read it as an actual score of 4 for 3 points was entered on the card as 3 for 3 points. Hence he signed for a lower score than he actually made on this hole and the DQ was therefore correct. :mmm:
 
Hi,
Thanks for the info, being a Happy Hacker I
do think the rules are a trifle harsh at times.
Who cares anyway, will still look forward to my next hack.
Thanks to all for the advice.
 
However a incorrect strokes taken on a hole was entered.
i.e. a 4 for 3 was entered as a 3 fo3.
.



It is spot on.

A 4 was (actually) entered (instead of being entered) as a 3.

I didn't think it was ambiguous - until now.

I read it as a score of 4 (for three points) was entered as a 3 scored (for 3 points) which would result as a dq as most people say. The way rulefan seems to be saying would only result in a points adjustment.

Edit: cancel most of above - just re-read rulefan's again and he is indeed saying the same as everyone else. Although the way it was written was a good attempt at making it ambiguous.:)
 
Last edited:
Not disputing the DQ or the rule one bit but....
It is a bit of a harsh rule because Stableford is a points event not a gross/nett event.
If the points are right..where's the real problem?
I know a fundamental of golf is to mark your actual score but as handicaps are effectively based on Stableford, even in a qualifier, if you only mark the number of points is there really an issue...?

PS...not advocating a change in rules at all........
 
Not disputing the DQ or the rule one bit but....
It is a bit of a harsh rule because Stableford is a points event not a gross/nett event.
If the points are right..where's the real problem?
I know a fundamental of golf is to mark your actual score but as handicaps are effectively based on Stableford, even in a qualifier, if you only mark the number of points is there really an issue...?

PS...not advocating a change in rules at all........

I would think that if a card was submitted with a wrong points for the score recorded that the secretary would alter the points to the correct number. So if it should be 4 for 3 and was recorded as 3 for 3 he would change it to 3 for 4 assuming that the marker gad got the points wrong and therefore get the points total wrong.
 
Hi,
Thanks for the info, being a Happy Hacker I
do think the rules are a trifle harsh at times.
Who cares anyway, will still look forward to my next hack.
Thanks to all for the advice.

You're not a proper golfer until you've been DQ'd for signing for a wrong score or failing to sign card.
It's a rite of passage, so congratulations!
 
If the points are right..where's the real problem?

Hold on. How can you know the points are right? The points are a product of the gross score with the handicap and Stroke Index applied to it. You can't work backwards from the points and say that the gross score must have been X.
 
Top