Define "Grounding"

drdel

Tour Rookie
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
4,374
Visit site
Ok, so no grounding you club in a hazard. Does this mean touching anything in the hazard or is it similar to that when on the green?
 
Ok, so no grounding you club in a hazard. Does this mean touching anything in the hazard or is it similar to that when on the green?
It means touching the ground (earth) in a hazard. "Earth" is my interpretation but does not include anything fixed or growing from the "earth".
 
As I understand it if you just touch stuff growing then not considered grounded but if you allow the growth to support the weight of the club (as you would when setting the club behind the ball on the fairway) then it's considered as grounded.
 
This is a good example of why the rules are carefully worded. The rule is that the player must not "... touch the ground ...". Which says all that's needed really.

If there is grass on the ground, then the club is touching the ground if the club is touching the grass to the extent that the weight of the club is supported by it.
 
As I understand it if you just touch stuff growing then not considered grounded but if you allow the growth to support the weight of the club (as you would when setting the club behind the ball on the fairway) then it's considered as grounded.

But if you took a practice swing in a hazard which clipped any grass etc wouldn't you incur a penalty. In our 4ball the discussion arose because a mate hit tall rushes when taking a practice shot well above the ground.
 
But if you took a practice swing in a hazard which clipped any grass etc wouldn't you incur a penalty. In our 4ball the discussion arose because a mate hit tall rushes when taking a practice shot well above the ground.

You are not touching the ground if your practice swing touches growing grass, reeds etc. If you take a number of practice swings you could be seen to be testing the condition of the hazard, however.
 
Top