Could I have got a free go?

matt71

Tour Rookie
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
1,153
Location
Preston
Visit site
Hi everyone :)

A strange thing happened today to my playing partner. He placed his ball on the tee and as he went into hi back swing the wind blow the ball off the tee, but as he was on his down swing end up toeing the club making a mess of his shot,

now I know tiger the other week stopped his swing but not a prayer my mate could of done that! My question is there any rules that would of let him replace the ball without penalty ?

we guessed not but just curious in case this type of thing comes about again


cheers
 
if he made an intentional swing with the objective of hitting the ball then I'm afraid not- he needs to learn to stop, as difficult as it is.
 
I've heard of at least 1 incident where player hit the ball, but it was clear he hadn't intend to - or maybe he missed the ball in what would have been a stroke, but it was obvious that he 'pulled out of it'.

By definition, a stroke requires intention to strike the ball, so if that doesn't exist, there was no stroke.
 
[h=2]14/1.5[/h][h=4]Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball[/h]Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?
A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.
If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.
Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.
 
14/1.5

Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball

Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?
A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.
If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.
Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.


Spot on cheers for that :)
 
[h=2]14/1.5[/h][h=4]Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball[/h]Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?
A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.
If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.
Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.

Seems pretty conclusive. If you hit ball - stroke; if you can avoid hitting ball - no stroke.

It was Kevin Na that 'got away with it' a couple of years ago.

Apparently he had forewarned officials that he had a habit of checking his swing, but missing it rather than destroying his back.
http://www.barryrhodes.com/2011/10/kevin-na-when-is-stroke-not-stroke.html
 
Last edited:
Usually true, but not a conclusive test.

Conceded. But hitting xertainly is conclusive. I know a couple of folk who could actually get away with a 'whiff' as a 'practice shot' if they so desired! Oddly for such consistency, they are both 'poor' golfers.
 
Usually true, but not a conclusive test.
in response to "if you can avoid hitting ball - no stroke. "

you will have to explain the inconclusive nature of that statement - I can't see it at all; it contains all the necessary elements ie a conscious decision to change the club path and miss the ball, successfully implemented.

however, I do agree that it's better to just apply the rulings rather than paraphrase or try and convert to one liners.
 
Top