Buying a second hand car

Coffey

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hey all, just looking for some advice as I've never done this before..

I am contemplating buying a new (to me) car from a dealer close to me.

The current car I own still has finance outstanding but the car should be worth more than what is outstanding.

The car I am looking to get is more expensive than what is outstanding so will have to add money/get finance on the new vehicle.

I have had a look at their website and the finance deal they are offering is a much higher APR rate than what I can get a loan at the bank for.

Is there any downsides to getting a loan at the bank and then just paying for the car and using my old car as a trade in? Will the dealership deal with my outstanding finance or is that something I need to sort out in advance?

I am pretty in the dark about all of this as my first car i just went in and got it without trading anything else in against it.

I assume this is all pretty standard though and just wondering if there is anything i need to consider or if there is any issues with using a bank loan (which i cant currently see a reason).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
No idea, but hitachi finance keep offering me loans at 3.1% apr, which is pretty low.

If you have outstanding finance on your car, is it yours to sell?

Coffey

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
No idea, but hitachi finance keep offering me loans at 3.1% apr, which is pretty low.

If you have outstanding finance on your car, is it yours to sell?

Yes I believe it is mine to sell as long as the finance is paid off, which it will be in any case. Just depends if I have to do that or the dealership handles that. I know a friend of mine went in and changed his car and they just added the difference to his current deal. But my current deal is higher than the APR I can get from the bank, so I don't want to do that.