Burrowing animal

graham64

Medal Winner
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
35
Visit site
Reasonally new to the game. I hit a shot yesterday that came to rest behind a tree but in a hole we all believed to be made by a rabbit. What is the correct procedure? If it's a free drop is it a club length no nearer the hole or is it in direct line of the flag ? Thanks in advance
 
If there is interference from a rabbit hole, you are entitled to relief without penalty. Find the nearest point of relief which is the nearest point not nearer the hole where you are completely free from the interference. Then drop within one club length of that point, not nearer the hole.

A caution, however. If the tree would make it impossible for you to make a stroke at the ball where it lay, you would not get relief.

You'll find the full story in Rule 25-1b including the Exception which tells you about the impossible shot.
 
A caution, however. If the tree would make it impossible for you to make a stroke at the ball where it lay, you would not get relief.

Colin is right. One of the first things you have to do is ask: "Could I take a shot with the ball where it is if there was no interference from the rabbit hole?" If you could not take the shot then you cannot get relief from the hole.
 
Colin is right. One of the first things you have to do is ask: "Could I take a shot with the ball where it is if there was no interference from the rabbit hole?" If you could not take the shot then you cannot get relief from the hole.

My regular PP took free relief from an OOB fence recently as his ball was next to some animal scrapings/holes, he didn't really have a shot (would have took an unplayable had he not taken relief) as his ball was hard up against the fence, so was he right or wrong?
Not sure if he's winding me up but he said he asked our secretary and who said he was ok to take a drop.
 
If there is interference from a rabbit hole, you are entitled to relief without penalty. Find the nearest point of relief which is the nearest point not nearer the hole where you are completely free from the interference. Then drop within one club length of that point, not nearer the hole.

A caution, however. If the tree would make it impossible for you to make a stroke at the ball where it lay, you would not get relief.

You'll find the full story in Rule 25-1b including the Exception which tells you about the impossible shot.
Is that a stroke in any direction or towards the hole?
 
Did you read the Exception? It is pretty helpful
I did, still slightly confused, if I currently come up against a tree or wall etc I have in the past attempted to play a shot backwards or left handed, now if I understand the exception and I'm in the same situation but this time in abnormal ground conditions I have to get the other person to agree that I am not attempting a shot I wouldn't normally play to be given relief, if for some reason they disagree then I am not granted relief.
Hope this makes sense.
 
You don't have to get anyone else to agree to what you do. In stroke play, if your fellow competitor does't like it he can report it to the committee; in match play, if your opponent doesn't like it, he can make a claim.

If you are up against a tree in a rabbit hole it does not matter in what direction you would have to play the ball - forwards, obliquely, sideways, backwards - or how you would have to play it - e.g. left handed or right handed . If a stroke is possible you can take relief.
 
You don't have to get anyone else to agree to what you do. In stroke play, if your fellow competitor does't like it he can report it to the committee; in match play, if your opponent doesn't like it, he can make a claim.

If you are up against a tree in a rabbit hole it does not matter in what direction you would have to play the ball - forwards, obliquely, sideways, backwards - or how you would have to play it - e.g. left handed or right handed . If a stroke is possible you can take relief.
Thanks Colin, this is were the confusion came from

So, before the player takes relief the marker, fellow competitor, opponent or official must decide whether, in their opinion, the left-handed stroke would be reasonable in the circumstances.

http://www.barryrhodes.com/2014/10/the-rules-of-golf-are-not-always-black.html?m=1
 
Going back to the OP....

What made you 'all believe' it was made by a Rabbit? Where there (Rabbit) droppings around the area?

Reason I query this is the number of times Squirrel (not a 'burrowing' animal, so NO relief) scrapes are considered to be Rabbit ones!
 
Thanks Colin, this is were the confusion came from

So, before the player takes relief the marker, fellow competitor, opponent or official must decide whether, in their opinion, the left-handed stroke would be reasonable in the circumstances.

http://www.barryrhodes.com/2014/10/the-rules-of-golf-are-not-always-black.html?m=1



Most of this statement from Barry is rather misleading.

"So, before the player takes relief the marker, fellow competitor, opponent or official must decide whether, in their opinion, the left-handed stroke would be reasonable in the circumstances."

The only person who can make a ruling is a referee. As Colin says above, in stroke play a fellow competitor can only report a possible breach and in match play the opponent can make a claim before the hole is completed. The committee will then make the ruling.
If in stroke play, the player thinks there may be a problem, he should (as Barry suggests) invoke rule 3-3 and play two balls.

Incidentally, Barry's use of the word 'official' is sloppy. An official may not necessarily have the authority of a referee.
 
mm...been following this one......so, if I were up against a tree and the only 'reasonable' shot I had was a hack out sideways left handed ( I am right handed) this is Ok right?. If I were in the same position but in a rabbit scrapping...I would get a drop? yes? :mmm:

M
 
mm...been following this one......so, if I were up against a tree and the only 'reasonable' shot I had was a hack out sideways left handed ( I am right handed) this is Ok right?. If I were in the same position but in a rabbit scrapping...I would get a drop? yes? :mmm:

M

In effect yes. But 'reasonable' doesn't mean moving the ball only 6".
 
Most of this statement from Barry is rather misleading.

"So, before the player takes relief the marker, fellow competitor, opponent or official must decide whether, in their opinion, the left-handed stroke would be reasonable in the circumstances."

The only person who can make a ruling is a referee. As Colin says above, in stroke play a fellow competitor can only report a possible breach and in match play the opponent can make a claim before the hole is completed. The committee will then make the ruling.
If in stroke play, the player thinks there may be a problem, he should (as Barry suggests) invoke rule 3-3 and play two balls.

Incidentally, Barry's use of the word 'official' is sloppy. An official may not necessarily have the authority of a referee.
Thanks very much :thup:
 
not really getting this one....if the only reasonable shot is left handed, then surely you get relief if in a rabbit scrapping. Surely you would always get relief because there is always a reasonable way to get the ball out...yes? Only drilling this one down as I played last weekend on a rabbit warren of a course and this happened to me twice...the second time I dropped the ball it jumped forward into a rabbit hole and disappeared............
 
not really getting this one....if the only reasonable shot is left handed, then surely you get relief if in a rabbit scrapping.
Yes.

Surely you would always get relief because there is always a reasonable way to get the ball out...yes?

Not necessarily. eg
If the ball is tightly lodged between tree roots when your foot is in a rabbit hole.
If the ball is 6' from a path with 50 yards to the green and you have to use a long putter to even reach it when standing on the path.

See these two Decisions. The second in particular.

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-24,d24-2b-17

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-24,d24-2b-18
 
Last edited:
Top