Bloated water hazard

BubbaP

Occasional Player of Golf
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
6,239
Location
Oxfordshire
Visit site
Managed a few holes today. We have a par 4 where you need to lay up short of a pond. The water was well over its normal position. It looked like the greenstaff had already moved the yellow stakes to mark a larger hazard, but the water was 3 or 4 yards beyond them.

If a ball had landed on what was fairway, so outside the stakes but in the bloated pond, would you treat it as casual water?

could maybe have looked it up but you guys are great:thup:
 
Managed a few holes today. We have a par 4 where you need to lay up short of a pond. The water was well over its normal position. It looked like the greenstaff had already moved the yellow stakes to mark a larger hazard, but the water was 3 or 4 yards beyond them.

If a ball had landed on what was fairway, so outside the stakes but in the bloated pond, would you treat it as casual water?

could maybe have looked it up but you guys are great:thup:

the hazard is defined by the stakes as far as I know, anything outside of that is in casual water, that would be my guess anyway
 
Managed a few holes today. We have a par 4 where you need to lay up short of a pond. The water was well over its normal position. It looked like the greenstaff had already moved the yellow stakes to mark a larger hazard, but the water was 3 or 4 yards beyond them.

If a ball had landed on what was fairway, so outside the stakes but in the bloated pond, would you treat it as casual water?

could maybe have looked it up but you guys are great:thup:


See Decision 25/2

Q. If a pond (water hazard) has overflowed, is the overflow casual water?
A. Yes. Any overflow of water from a water hazard which is outside the margin of the hazard is casual water.
 
But keep in mind, that in case, that the ball cannot be found inside the water, it must be deemed to be inside the water hazard.
[h=2]Decision 1-4/7[/h] [h=4]Ball Lost in Either Water Hazard or Casual Water Overflowing Hazard[/h] Q.It is known or virtually certain that a ball is lost either in a water hazard or in an area of casual water overflowing the hazard, but it is not known which. What is the proper procedure?

A.In equity (Rule 1-4), the player must proceed under the water hazard Rule. (Revised)

[h=4][/h]
 
But keep in mind, that in case, that the ball cannot be found inside the water, it must be deemed to be inside the water hazard.
[h=2]Decision 1-4/7[/h] [h=4]Ball Lost in Either Water Hazard or Casual Water Overflowing Hazard[/h] Q.It is known or virtually certain that a ball is lost either in a water hazard or in an area of casual water overflowing the hazard, but it is not known which. What is the proper procedure?

A.In equity (Rule 1-4), the player must proceed under the water hazard Rule. (Revised)

[h=4][/h]

Careful - what you have stated and what the decision states are not the same.

You can know that a ball is lost within the casual water without finding it, in exxanthine try the same way as a ball lost in a water hazard.
 
Top