sawtooth
Tour Winner
I hit a tee shot today on our 5th, it went well, down the middle but a ditch goes across the fairway around the distance my tee shot is landing.
However, I decided not to play a provisional because I thought my ball was flying over the ditch from the tee although I never actually saw it bounce - I assumed it was OK.
I got up to the ditch, my PP was in the ditch and but I couldnt see mine in there. I said that I though that it went over so I carried on walking to search ahead.
No sign of it anywhere, one PP said that he thought it went in the ditch. The other PP did not see it.
I decided not to take a drop (as if the ball went in the ditch) because although the PP thought that it went in , I already announced out loud that I thought it went over. And it could have, even though its fairway and light rough it was sodden so it may have plugged - although quite unlikely. So instead of dropping a ball (which I dont think I was entitled to do) or going back to the tee I decided to scratch the hole.
So although my PP's were happy for me to take a drop (and I was also coming around to the idea that it must have gone in), I felt uncomfortable about doing so.
Right decision I think or was I being overly cautious about a rule breach?
However, I decided not to play a provisional because I thought my ball was flying over the ditch from the tee although I never actually saw it bounce - I assumed it was OK.
I got up to the ditch, my PP was in the ditch and but I couldnt see mine in there. I said that I though that it went over so I carried on walking to search ahead.
No sign of it anywhere, one PP said that he thought it went in the ditch. The other PP did not see it.
I decided not to take a drop (as if the ball went in the ditch) because although the PP thought that it went in , I already announced out loud that I thought it went over. And it could have, even though its fairway and light rough it was sodden so it may have plugged - although quite unlikely. So instead of dropping a ball (which I dont think I was entitled to do) or going back to the tee I decided to scratch the hole.
So although my PP's were happy for me to take a drop (and I was also coming around to the idea that it must have gone in), I felt uncomfortable about doing so.
Right decision I think or was I being overly cautious about a rule breach?