Benefits to your golf after weight loss????

Phil2511

Global Moderator
www.britespark.org
I know that many of you guys went on diets throughout 2012 and going by the recent diet posts it seems many lost some or alot of weight.

After struggling with my irons, gradually getting worse and worse since mid October when I started playing less and less due to darker nights and the weather. I have been trying all sorts to get it back and to no avail.

Been taking videos over past few weeks whilst trying to work on them and have finally come to the conclusion its a physical issue rather than a swing issue.

Going by the video from tonight especially it is obvious I have piled on the pounds especially round the middle in particular and Christmas has boosted that somewhat more.

The current issue is that to make a full shoulder turn my left knee now turns/bends in too much and then when I go to start my downswing the knee has to turn back much farther to get through, thus restricting my weight shift onto my left side and allowing the club head to get ahead of my hands at impact.

It seems to worsen the shorter the club as the knee bend seems to worsen the more bent over I am.

Driver and rescues still go with a bit of draw but rescues are quite often going much higher. As the club gets shorter and the knee bend worsens its hard to even get the face squared.
Mid irons are a very high fade and short irons are a high, more slicey type shot and wedges are the same or practically a shank.

I watched videos of myself at the range from mid season 2012 and whilst still too much knee bend the gut was smaller and the knee bend was much much less and I was playing quite well. (Broke 90 in Sept)

So its been a big eye opener that I have to lose big weight and try and increase my leg strength and flexibility to stand any chance of improving my game.