ball thrown back by passerby

lensouth

Newbie
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
6
Visit site
if a player hits his drive close to oob post and when he goes to search for it finds it in bounds, but a passer by informs him that he had found his ball oob. and thrown it back, what should he do?
 
[h=2]15/9[/h] [h=4]Ball Thrown into Bounds by Outside Agency and Played; Caddie Aware of Action of Outside Agency[/h]Q.A's ball was found lying in bounds and A played a shot towards the green. Then a man appeared and said that A's ball had come to rest out of bounds in his garden. He said he had thrown it onto the course and had told A's caddie what he had done. The caddie had not reported this to A. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 6-1, A is responsible for his caddie's failure to tell him what the man had said.

A's ball was no longer the ball in play when it came to rest out of bounds. Therefore, it was a wrong ball - see Definitions of "Ball in Play" and "Wrong Ball." When A made a stroke with the wrong ball, he incurred the penalty prescribed in Rule 15-3 and, in stroke play, was obliged to proceed under Rule 27-1.
 
if a player hits his drive close to oob post and when he goes to search for it finds it in bounds, but a passer by informs him that he had found his ball oob. and thrown it back, what should he do?
If a ball is stopped deflected or moved deliberately the proper course of action would be to play from the aproximate spot the ball would have ended up without the interference ..
As you were aware it was thrown back you would be placing it back in the OOB & as pbrowne says back to the tee to play 3 .


(or use the provisional you played when there was a doubt your ball was OOB :D ... )
 
If a ball is stopped deflected or moved deliberately the proper course of action would be to play from the aproximate spot the ball would have ended up without the interference ..
As you were aware it was thrown back you would be placing it back in the OOB & as pbrowne says back to the tee to play 3 .


(or use the provisional you played when there was a doubt your ball was OOB :D ... )

Learn something every day!

I didn't realise there was a distinction between a ball deflected or stopped accidentally and deliberately by an outside agency.

Nice one!
 
Learn something every day!

I didn't realise there was a distinction between a ball deflected or stopped accidentally and deliberately by an outside agency.

Nice one!

Yea i think its rule 19 something mate , i won a rules dvd in the magazine , the R&A one , its shows the rules being applied in actual comps , very good dvd .. very easy to understand,
 
[h=2]15/9[/h] [h=4]Ball Thrown into Bounds by Outside Agency and Played; Caddie Aware of Action of Outside Agency[/h]Q.A's ball was found lying in bounds and A played a shot towards the green. Then a man appeared and said that A's ball had come to rest out of bounds in his garden. He said he had thrown it onto the course and had told A's caddie what he had done. The caddie had not reported this to A. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 6-1, A is responsible for his caddie's failure to tell him what the man had said.

A's ball was no longer the ball in play when it came to rest out of bounds. Therefore, it was a wrong ball - see Definitions of "Ball in Play" and "Wrong Ball." When A made a stroke with the wrong ball, he incurred the penalty prescribed in Rule 15-3 and, in stroke play, was obliged to proceed under Rule 27-1.

That covers the condition where the player or caddie was informed of what happened (as in the OP).

But, for completeness, 15.10 states what happens if nobody was made aware that the ball was thrown back in.

15/10 Ball Thrown into Bounds by Outside Agency and Played; Neither Player Nor His Caddie Aware of Action of Outside Agency
Q.Decision 15/9 states that, if an outside agency throws a player's ball back onto the course from out of bounds and advises the player's caddie to this effect, the player is penalized for playing a wrong ball if he plays the ball from its position in bounds. What would be the ruling if neither the player nor his caddie knew the player's ball had been thrown back onto the course?

A.In match play, in equity (Rule 1-4), there would be no penalty for playing a wrong ball (Rule 15-3). If the player learns of the actions of the outside agency after playing the wrong ball, but before the opponent makes another stroke or takes some action (e.g., picks up or concedes the player's next stroke) that the opponent might not have taken if the wrong ball had not been played, then the player must correct his mistake and proceed correctly. If the player learns of the mistake later than this, he must proceed with the wrong ball without penalty and the score with the wrong ball must count.

In stroke play, in equity (Rule 1-4), there would be no penalty for playing a wrong ball (Rule 15-3). If the player discovers before playing from the next teeing ground that the original ball was out of bounds, he must go back and proceed under Rule 27-1. If the discovery is not made until later than this, the score with the wrong ball stands.
 
Learn something every day!

I didn't realise there was a distinction between a ball deflected or stopped accidentally and deliberately by an outside agency.

Nice one!

Happens more in professional events (with an audience) than the amateur game - but it's rare it is observed well enough to action.

Generally the difference between a ball ricocheting of someones leg onto the green and them moving their leg with the intention of it going towards the green can be somewhat mute - but there have been clearcut situations where a member of the crowd clearly decides to give a moving ball a helping hand and you have to estimate where it would have ended up without the assistance.
 
Happens more in professional events (with an audience) than the amateur game - but it's rare it is observed well enough to action.

Generally the difference between a ball ricocheting of someones leg onto the green and them moving their leg with the intention of it going towards the green can be somewhat mute - but there have been clearcut situations where a member of the crowd clearly decides to give a moving ball a helping hand and you have to estimate where it would have ended up without the assistance.

Faldo v Lyle (?) at Wentworth back in the 80s, World Matchplay.
 
Faldo v Lyle (?) at Wentworth back in the 80s, World Matchplay.

When thinking about it the last one I could remember was a little more up to date. Can't remember the details but it was last year, televised US tour event and involved a ball heading of the back right of a green....not much to go on!
 
Not wanting to detract from the OP but what would happen in this case...

A tee ball heading out of bounds by a fair amount and as a result player hit3 3 off the tee. When walking up the fairway original ball was found in the middle of the fairway which could only have got there after hitting some rocks and bounced back into play. Not spotted by all at the time. No other parties involved.

Unless player announced provisional is that tough tittie?
 
Not wanting to detract from the OP but what would happen in this case...

A tee ball heading out of bounds by a fair amount and as a result player hit3 3 off the tee. When walking up the fairway original ball was found in the middle of the fairway which could only have got there after hitting some rocks and bounced back into play. Not spotted by all at the time. No other parties involved.

Unless player announced provisional is that tough tittie?

I;ll alway say its a provisional unless i see it land OOB.
 
Top