Ball strikes another while putting.

patricks148

Global Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
24,821
Location
Highlands
Visit site
Had an interesting one today on the 4th. 2 of my playing partners putted at the same time(ready golf) neither knew the others was about to putt. One went in but in the process hit the other ball stopping that going in as well.

What would the ruling be, any penalty?
 
Last edited:
So i would call rule 9.6 Ball lifted or moved by outside influence, the person furthest away from the hole was entitled to play first, the other player has caused his ball to move and receives a 2 stroke penalty and plays his ball from where it lies, the other player replaces his ball and plays again, no pen.

Or in a friendly game both replay!!
 
Yes, the odds must be pretty high, both about 20 feet away, one straight in the hole the other just touched the ball as it fell in the hole and stopped right on the edge

Playing with Tiger and Phil by any chance? :ROFLMAO:

Great putts! I feel for the guy who was left on the edge!
 
See Exception 2 to Rule 11.1. If both balls were still in motion, no penalty to either player and both strokes must be replayed.

Rule 11 - Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person, Animal or Object; Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball in Motion
Exception 2 – When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), except in these two cases:
  • Ball in Motion Hits Another Ball at Rest or Ball-Marker on Putting Green. The stroke counts and the ball must be played as it lies. (See Rule 11.1a for whether a penalty applies in stroke play).
  • Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Flagstick or Person Attending Flagstick. This is covered by Rule 13.2b(2), not by this Rule.



 
So i would call rule 9.6 Ball lifted or moved by outside influence, the person furthest away from the hole was entitled to play first, the other player has caused his ball to move and receives a 2 stroke penalty and plays his ball from where it lies, the other player replaces his ball and plays again, no pen.

Or in a friendly game both replay!!

In any stroke play game they both replay, but I see Rulie has already referenced that.
 
Was involved in something similar at Swinley once. Myself and another player both putted at the same time, about 20 ft away - unaware the other was putting. The balls looked to be on a collision course but amazingly they both went in without hitting. Freakishly long odds!
 
[QUOTE="Colin L, post: 2420921, member: 16140"]In any stroke play game they both replay, but I see Rulie has already referenced that.
In match play also, surely?[/QUOTE]
Yes. I was trying to point out that it didn’t matter whether it was a social or competition round, the outcome was the same.
 
Last edited:
Top